Scottish Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I love this recipe! My family had eaten it 5 days a week, for six weeks without getting tired of it! I did use these substitutes at times: wheat flour, choc. chips, criasins, raisins, butter flavored shortening (sub. for butter), and banana (sub. for eggs). I always doubled the recipe. This will always be a favorite, thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hisdaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
BLAH!!!! I did use cranraisins like others suggested instead. I have cranberry recipes that are much better for scones.My husband said to give it a 2, but I'd given it a 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Great recipe - I just used craisins and added about 1/4 c more for more flavor, snipping them in half to keep them current-sized. Easy trick: use 2 sticks of frozen butter and grate half of each into the dry ingredients before adding the wet stuff (the other half will melt in your hand). It cuts down on the amount of stuff you need to mix, thus less gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This was my first attempt at making scones. Wow! They were easy and turned out great, even though my baking powder was three years out of date and my husband is very discriminating when it comes to scones. The only change we made was using cranberries instead of currants. We will definitely make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
My mom absolutely LOVED these thank you for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Awesome base recipe! If you only want a plain scone with jam use the original recipe. If you want to jazz it up put what you like in eg. lemon rind and blueberries,or apples and cinnamon,or etc etc. If you want a sweeter scone you could add extra sugar which I did as I was not using with jam. I also replaced milk with yogurt as that is what I had.I also make individual scones just drop them on and flatten a bit with hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This is my new favorite recipe. The scones come with just a bit of sweetness. They are so simple, with great texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This was okay. It needs more liquid.... maybe more milk? it was very dry and crumbly, will probably try again, with a little more liquid next time. Easy to make with a 3 yr old to "help".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Very tasty!! This was my first time making scones and I found the recipe very easy to work with! I added pecans and cranberries, which made it a very delightful afternoon snack! My family is very impressed:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Myers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I used this as a basic recipe. I didn't use the currants instead I used 1/4 cup of apricot preserves with 1/2 tbsp. of fresh ginger and I also cut the sugar by half and they were great...we ate them for breakfast...thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States