Scottish Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Good. As other reviewers have stated, these aren't dessert sweet, but have a nice subtle sweetness. I did add a small squeeze of honey since several reviews commented on dryness. Mine are delicious with or without butter - Tea or Coffee is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I've made these several times since finding this recipe and will continue to make them. They're great. I've made several variations - half whole wheat flour/half white flour, raisins in place of the currants, dried cranberries in place of the currants, and sprinkled with cinnamon and sugar. It's a great, easy recipe. Thanks so much for some variety in my breakfast repertoire!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
The dough was a bit sticky, but they were so easy to make. They were a bit dry and were not sweet, but we them that way. We'll definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Like these. My 6 year old son wouldn't eat them, because he saysthey are made with DRY oatmeal. Mine came out pretty dry, by I am still hopeful for the recipe. I think maybe adding in applesauce for half the butter and cooking a few minutes less might help moisten them. Just a guess! I also added in a little cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I use raisins instead of currants (no currants in sight anywhere here in Jakarta). First time i made it i halved the recipe, and after the dough felt nice, i realise i haven't put the egg in. so, i divided the dough into 6, and rolled them in the beaten egg, then flatten it (too lazy to flatten it using rolling pin), then bake it. it tastes YUMMY. I usually make the grandma johnson's scones, but this one is healthier and i feel much better eating this than the grany johnson's. Seriously, this easily beats oatmeal scones sold at starbucs here hands down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
GREAT EASY AND THEY TASTE WONDERFUL, I REPLACED THE SUGAR WITH "SPLENDA" AND THEY WERE SWEETER TASTING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HILDIEWAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Very good. I used fresh currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
YUMMY! I substituted 2/3 of the flour for whole wheat, used 1/4 cup of brown sugar, and dried cherries ( I had to halve the recipe because there aren't very many people around:) I also added some vanilla and sprinkled the tops with brown sugar which was AMAZING! The brown sugar melts into caramel in a few places because the oven temp. is so high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EUPHROSYNE81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
These were great for a quick fix, but they turned out a little dry. I might add a bit more liquid next time. Don' t forget your favorite hot drink to wash it down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
I used raisins instead of currants. These were so good my husband and I ate all 16 in less than 2 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States