Scottish Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Even with the complete substitution of whole wheat flour (I left out 1/4 cup), these tasted great and not at all "wheaty". I used chopped dates instead. Next time I will try blueberries, Splenda and applesauce. Great for breakfast, and very filling/satisfying. I do think these could be a little less sweet though, considering they are scones, but I don't like having sugar for breakfast, so maybe that's why. Bake it on parchment paper, and grease only the sides of the pan. You'll get a nice crunchy crust and no burnt bottom (you'll like this tip if you have an oven that is tricky to deal with,like mine).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
These are GREAT!! I added Craisins to mine instead of currants, and they were terrific! I've already made these three times since I discovered the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by B Spradley
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I really enjoyed these! The women I served them to appreciated the healthy twist to regular scones. Of course, I did add mini chocolate chips! Make sure not to bake too long as they can be a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Spradley
Living In: La Mirada, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
These are definitely tastey. But it ended up coming out more like an oat cake then a scone. Definitely more liquid is required, because they definitely weren't scone like. But they did make very nice, slightly sweet oatcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
What this recipe for me needs is more sweetness. I used brown sugar like another reviewer suggested. I think it has too much baking powder. I also added the cinnamon and nutmeg like another reviewer suggested. Next time I will use applesauce instead of butter and add more raisins and spices. A good place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotrgal922

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikeville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ossining, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I loved them ,my husband didn't care for them wich surprised me cause they reminded me of the ones we used to get in N.Y. almost daily for breakfast. Not too sweet & nice texture.I guess he's used to grandma J'S recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montevideo, Montevideo, Uruguay
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Great recipe. So easy. Followed exactly and they were perfect. I would keep an eye on them while they're in the oven, mine were done with 3 minutes left on the timer. I will make these all the time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was definitely a yummy scone, way better than what you get from coffee shops. It's light and you can really taste oatmeal which is my favorite ingredient. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Narae

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Loved this recipe! I'm the only one in my family who will eat it, but it freezes well for quick breakfast or afternoon snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Henderson, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Wonderful recipe! This was the first time I attempted making scones and I am very pleased. I did not use currants because I did not have any, but I did add cinnamon. The scones are not too sweet...perfect for curling up on a rainy afternoon with a hot cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States