Scottish Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I always make this recipe completely with applesauce (no butter at all), brown sugar, dried blueberries, lemon zest, and dried cranberries. They're delicious and pretty healthy, too - 100 calories each (unless I add dark chocolate) and almost no fat. I also took one user's suggestion of soaking the oats in milk and the scones are always moist. They aren't the best scones I've ever had, but the recipe gets 5 stars anyway for being so easy to change. I like eating these by themselves for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
These are delicious! I used buttermilk instead of milk and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivybaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
These baked well but were very dry. I would have preferred a litte more moistness...I will try applesauce next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I made these with dried apricots & used vanilla Silk lite instead of milk and they are really good. They could be dressed up a little with a glaze of some sort if you wanted something sweeter, but they are great as is as well. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
i followed the recipe exactly (with a few healthier subs) and my scones were delicous. i did use apricots rather than currants and a white/wheat flour mixture. i used evaporated cane juice for sugar and earth balance as the butter. i wish they were a little fluffier, but for a oat scone these rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Scones were okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
We love these and I have been making them about once a week. I use half apple sauce in place of half of the butter. I also use brown sugar instead of white. To soften the oats a little bit and keep things from being too dry I soak the oats in the milk for a few minutes before mixing everything else in. Overall a great recipe and very easy to change to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Honestly, I didn't care much for the flavor of these. They seemed rather bland - I thought I might have done something wrong, but I made everything as the recipe said to. Not horrible but I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
came out a little tough and bland but it has potential. I think I'll put less oats and add a tsp of vanilla next time. I used 1c of wheat flour and 1/2c of white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Tasty but a little too crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States