Scottish Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
These are just like the scones my mom used to make, and they always satisfy my craving for that childhood treat. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I love these scones! They are not sweet like some, perfect for breakfast. I made mine with raisins because I can't find currents anywhere, and added 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon because I like it. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
mmm a delicious treat! Great for snacks, desert, or breakfast! I made some today and they turned out wonderfully! They are a cross of a small cake and a cookie. Instead of currants and oats, I used chocolate chips. I also sprinkled them with sugar right when they came out of the oven. I found they only needed to cook for about 7 to 8 minutes though. Overall, a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Yummy! Loved the texture of the oats. I thought the dryness/crumbliness was not a problem - about on par with other scones. I subbed 1/2 the flour for wheat and added 2tbsp orange extract, 2tbsp cinammon, and subbed raisins for currants. Additions are needed if you want something sweet. UPDATE: first time, I made individual scones and time was perfect. second time, I made 2 larger rounds to cut into wedges, and the middles took about 5 minutes extra to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I think if would have remembered the sugar they would be a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Really good and sooooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ML

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
These are delicious and very easy to make! I followed the recipe very closely except for adding an additional 1/2 cup of fresh blueberries. The fresh fruit was a great addition. I also separated the individual slices before baking. They were gone very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
These are really easy to make and taste delicious!! Just make sure to not put 4 teaspoons of baking soda instead of baking powder and dont put 4 tablespoons of either! Another tip: try them with chocolate chips instead of currants. Deliciouso!! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I made these several times, everyone one loves these scones. I used dried cranberries instead of currents and served with lemon curd. Just delicious! Of course, great with a cup of Herbal tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
these were great-loved them! making my second batch now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee'

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States