Scottish Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 7, 2008
These baked well but were very dry. I would have preferred a litte more moistness...I will try applesauce next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billerica, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I made these with dried apricots & used vanilla Silk lite instead of milk and they are really good. They could be dressed up a little with a glaze of some sort if you wanted something sweeter, but they are great as is as well. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
i followed the recipe exactly (with a few healthier subs) and my scones were delicous. i did use apricots rather than currants and a white/wheat flour mixture. i used evaporated cane juice for sugar and earth balance as the butter. i wish they were a little fluffier, but for a oat scone these rock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Scones were okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
We love these and I have been making them about once a week. I use half apple sauce in place of half of the butter. I also use brown sugar instead of white. To soften the oats a little bit and keep things from being too dry I soak the oats in the milk for a few minutes before mixing everything else in. Overall a great recipe and very easy to change to your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Honestly, I didn't care much for the flavor of these. They seemed rather bland - I thought I might have done something wrong, but I made everything as the recipe said to. Not horrible but I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
came out a little tough and bland but it has potential. I think I'll put less oats and add a tsp of vanilla next time. I used 1c of wheat flour and 1/2c of white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Tasty but a little too crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
I had to try these to see how they compared to the fabulous Grandma Johnson scones that I love. These too are very good. I used craisins, which I had on hand. They are more dense, biscuit-like, and not as sweet - a different kind of scone, but equally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I substituted orange juice for the milk in this recipe, and "Craisins" for the currants. Although the OJ flavor was a little too subtle, overall the scones were moist and delicious. Everyone really enjoyed them, including my MIL who is a wonderful cook and has a-um-particular palate. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States