Scottish Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Very tasty!! This was my first time making scones and I found the recipe very easy to work with! I added pecans and cranberries, which made it a very delightful afternoon snack! My family is very impressed:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Myers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I used this as a basic recipe. I didn't use the currants instead I used 1/4 cup of apricot preserves with 1/2 tbsp. of fresh ginger and I also cut the sugar by half and they were great...we ate them for breakfast...thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Great flavour, but VERY dry and crumbly. Needs more liquid perhaps?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Having prepared the recipe as is, I found these were very similar to the scones my British friend used to make for me - even though hers were not made from oats! She used raisins, but I used dried cranberries because they were what I had on hand. I thought these were delicious - thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is the recipe I've been looking for. Great with currants or craisins. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsMaxson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
These were wonderful right out of the oven and warm, however I did not like them as well the next day. I will make them again for sure. The only thing I changed was I did not have dried currants so added dried chopped cherries instead. Yummy, thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
These were pretty good. Only change was I used raisins instead of currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I loved this recipe. Easy to make and they came out great. Only changes I made were to leave out the salt (I used salted butter) and I used craisins instead of currants. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I love these scones. They're not too dry, and the texture is really nice. Even my 7 year old likes them, and he's really picky. I sometimes like to dust them with cinnamon sugar before I bake them. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Good hearty scone, could use a little extra sugar. Overall GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States