Scottish Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I do not care for currants, or dried fruit for that matter, in baked good. I used chopped almonds, and also added 2 TB cinnamon. While I thought these were pretty good, they were a bit too dry for my taste. If I were going to eat these with butter or jam, they'd be fine, but on their own they were a little too dry. Good flavor, however. Next time, I think I will use less oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
These are absolutely fabulous. I made the recipe to a 'T', except for making individual scones rather than forming 2 large circles and scoring into wedges. I then baked 10 mins at the same temp. I loved the texture and also how they aren't too sweet. I don't think they need a thing - jam, butter, etc. The butter flavour actually really comes through. Wonderful! Don't change a thing! - Update: Because I didn't have enough butter today, I made these with 1/4 butter 3/4 olive oil. Still perfect and delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Moutsopoulos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Excellent for breakfast! As per other users, I always add one grated apple to make more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Decent. Far denser than expected and with a grainy texture. I left them out before cooking in their sliced circular state, so perhaps that is why? Either way, the flavor is really good - but I was not a fan of texture and density. Would try another recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
They were good when they were warm but, they became dry and crumbly when they cooled. I will make them again. They are great warm with strawberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie R.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Stevens, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I found these to be a bit bland, but they would probably liven up if you added some brown sugar. I added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg and 1/4 teaspoon of cloves. If you added some more sugar, and some orange or lemon zest in addition to the spices, these would be great. They were also very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by utooley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Greenbelt, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
They were great. A big hit with the family. I have made them 3 times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Delicious! They were really easy to make and taste really good. I added a little extra sugar and currents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
The real beauty of these scones is how fast they are to make. A nice, flexible, every-day recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I added to much milk and subbed honey for the sugar, so made these into drop scones! They are very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States