Scottish Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Loved this recipe! I substituted currants with fresh marionberries. Very moist. The oatmeal holds the juice from the berries. I will make these over and over and use fresh fruit always. I have some fresh blueberries for the next batch. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I love these! The first time I made them I added a teaspoon of orange peel and some chopped craisins - amazing! This morning I used 1/4 c butter and 1/4 cup canola oil and patted some raw, unrefined coarse sugar on top before baking with excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
These didn't turn out well. I see great potential! They were way too crumbly and didn't end up staying together during the patting/scoring process. Then the bottoms burned and they didnt rise while baking. I followed the recipe and made no adjustments. Probably won't try again unless I wade through all the other reviews to see what adjustments worked best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
They looked too dark coming out of the oven, but the oats had crisped around the edges making a nice toasty flavor! Best scones I've made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This is a perfect scone recipe. It's easy and delicious. I used dried cranberries but other than this substitution, I followed the recipe exactly. The wet ingredients mix in very well with the dry ingredients; just don't use heaping or densely packed cupfuls of flour and oats. Also, slice a few pats of butter and let sit to room temperature, put out a couple of jars of jams and jellies, some fresh berries, and you have a small afternoon tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
These were yummy and super easy! I used dried cranberries instead of currants and I used orange sugar in place of regular sugar. These are great as is, but also did half with an orange glaze for those who like their scones sweet. Really, so easy and so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by osulolli
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Excellent! I used half whole wheat, and half all-purpose flour, subbed applesauce for half the butter, added 1/2 tsp orange extracts, and used blueberries instead of currants. With raspberry jam they're amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very good, disapear in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cavendish, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
These are incredible! I've made them several times, and every time they come out delicious. The outside is crisp and the inside is soft and flaky. And they're so quick and easy! I live on my won so I'll often make a batch of these on Sunday morning and freeze the individual pieces for breakfast during the week
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
A good hearty scone. Easy to make and delicious warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States