Scottish Oat Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Very, very tasty. Skip the currants if you don't like them, these work well plain or with the dried fruit of your choice. They also freeze pretty well, I've been putting the second disk in the freezer wrapped in plastic. Great with jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
These were really easy to make and tasted great. I used dried cranberries instead of currants. They were buttery and crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. You couldn't really taste the oats. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Substituted oat flour for the white flour, reduced the sugar (used homemade brown instead), coconut oil for the butter and blueberries for the currants. Doubled the recipe and it came out great. My daughter's picky picky BFF was over and ate 2. That speaks volumes, believe me. Will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
great recipe. so simple and filling. 15 mins is too long for my oven, only took about 10-12 mins to cook. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Just before making this I was looking at another recipe that used dates in it. So i added about 1/2 cut chopped dates into these and they were sweet and perfect. they were a little dry... but perhaps thats part of scones. Still perfect with tea :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Easy and perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Amazing!!! Used cranberries instead of currants and added the zest of an orange. Also put orange glaze on them from a recepie here in allrecepies.com. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I love making these. I sometimes use raisins instead. My neighbors are always asking me to make them some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
So yummy! I kept sneaking just one more... The only changes I made were to decrease the oats to 1 1/2 cups, replaced the currants with dried cranberries and added 1 Tbsp of orange zest and 1/2 - 1 tsp of cinnamon. These were just right, not at all dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
a little dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 218) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States