Scottish Mince Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
This recipe has been a hit every single time I have served it. So much so, in fact people have told me I should market it!! It is definitely a GREAT alternative to regular meat pie. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2001
We loved this version of a popular meal. I used Bisto (tm) instead of beef boulion cubes or powder. Made a nice thick gravy. Will use this recipe over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
This recipe was fun to make because I've never had anything like this before, but I didn't like much else about it. Flavor was bland. Also, the mix of ground beef and pie crust was a little too rich for me. However, there was something oddly comforting about it, but next time I want some comfort food I'll make meatloaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
My husband moved here to the US from Scotland 2+ years ago. Besides Indian food, he misses his traditional scottish dishes so I was very excited to try this recipe. He loved it but reminded me that this would actually be served with mashed potatoes and called "mince and taties" and not served as a pie. The gravy in a real scottish mince meat pie is less beefy, more peppery with a thicker consistency and looks somewhere between clear and grey not brown. Still, this hit the mark as "mince" and I think I'll serve the leftovers with some mashed potatoes! I would caution against adding salt. The boullions have enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
Delicious! I did make some alterations to the dish to suit my tastes. I substituted the onion for a couple cloves of garlic. I added a tablespoon worcestershire sauce to the meat mixture. And I topped it with mashed potatoes opposed to a pie crust. It was definitely a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Really good pie. Traditionally, I think meat pies have some ground lamb in them, which I will try next time for some added flavor. I, too, added worchestershire sauce and it added a nice bit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by granolagirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
I made it this morning, and it was really fun to make. It looked very impressive when it was finished. We as dutchies are not really used to eating pies, so when i'll serve it to my housemates later they will be suprised. I nibbled a bit of it and i like it, though it is a bit bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hcorianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woudenberg, Utrecht, Netherlands
Living In: Ede, Gelderland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
My family really liked this pie. I grew up with my mom making Scottish mince but she served it over mashed potatoes or noodles. I did do one thing different--I browned the ground beef (I thought it would be quicker) and then rinsed it in hot water to remove the grease and then followed the rest of the recipe. Thanks for this easy and tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
nice nice!! Im from new zealand and I miss my mince pies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
A nice meal. We added a layer of mashed potatoes before covering with the top pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States