Scottish Mince Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
This recipe was fantastic! My husband is from England and he said it tasted just like home. Even my picky kids loved it. I added frozen peas and carrots just to give it more texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Really close to my grandmothers Scottish Mince Pie. Really nice flavour. She was from Inverness. Thank for the nice recipe. I used stock instead of bouillon which cut back on the salt, otherwise fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Antha

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
My husband is from small town in Scotland, and he said to me "this is spot on". He really enjoyed this, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmyb
Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
This came out great! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hubbardston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Used this recipe for a historical character party (everyone finds a historical character and brings a dish form that persons country.) Everyone Loved it. it was very easy to make and wasn't time consuming, so i had plenty of time to get my costume ready ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
My grandmother cooked this quite a bit for us when I was growing up. Basically the same recipe but not as a pie. Quarter cut potatoes were instead boiled with the mince. Bovril was Granny's boullion of choice which did make a slightly thicker, meatier tasting gravy. Wish I liked the tripe soup she made as much as I liked her mince and tatties. :>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
it was good but is it better to bake the crust before the meat is put in or to not
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
it was 4 because i ended up adding things to my taste which for us made it a 6! the things we added were, boiling the meat in beer instead of water and keeping it in instead of draining and then adding more water (which i understand for those of you who want to be healthy). i also added a splash of worcestershire, and sliced mushrooms. and to finish it off i added a little grated sharp cheddar before putting the pastry top on the pie. made it a bit more like the pies i had in england (don't know about scotland). turned out fantastic!!! a new fave in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Great recipe, tastes very like the mince pie my mum used to make for us as kids. Added some diced carrot and some peas, will add this to my repertoire as the kids ate every last bit of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Shepherd's Pie

This hearty casserole combines ground meat, veggies, and fluffy mashers.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States