Scottish Bubbles and Squeak Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Absolutely loved this one! I did use cole slaw mix instead of the cabbage and carrot...kept everything else the same. They were so tasty. I got 6 decent sized patties out of the mixture. Served with turkey kielbasa and a salad. Will make again...thanks Sanzoe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I really liked the flavor of this, but I had too much trouble trying to get them to stick together as patties. The second time I made it I decided to just make it as casserole and it worked out great! I made it exactly the same way but instead of frying it as a patty I put in in a casserole dish and put grated cheddar over the top. 15 minutes at 350 and it was ready to go. My husband says "great leftovers!".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
The patties didn't really hold together, but it was definitely tasty! We ate them all with sour cream. ETA: I have now made this a few times and I've done better at getting them to stick together. It helps if you don't make the mashed potatoes too wet before mixing it all together. These are quite tasty! DH loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These are great! I've never heard of them, but encountered the recipe when I *met* sanzoe on the RE and was intrigued by them. I cheated (I'm kind of lazy) and used left over mashed potatoes (made w/just 1% milk and a tad of butter), bagged coleslaw mix, and pre shredded 2% cheddar. Since I'm a cheater, i had to *guesstimate* the amounts (esp since Mr. LTH got home from work early and helped himself to some of the potatoes I'd set aside!). I also realized I was out of onion, so I added a couple of dashes of minced/dried. I had no problem forming the patties...the only problem I had was my impatience in waiting for them to cook...I kept flipping them early, resulting in not the most attractive looking patties. I made mine first and made them in a non stick pan sprayed w/Pam. I do NOT recommend this! Mine had a very *off* taste to them. I then made Mr. LTH's in the same pan, coated w/a bit of butter and they were FABULOUS! I also added a couple of dashes of crushed red pepper for a little heat. TY for a great recipe, sanzoe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I thought this was really good! I tripled the recipe to take to a pot luck, and it was well-received. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I sauteed the onions in a little butter before mixing them into the rest. I did cook it differently, as suggested by another reviewer -- I spread the veggies into a 9 X 13 dish and topped them with the cheese, then cooked it at 375 for about 30 minutes (until it was warm and bubbly). The food was almost room temperature by the time I did this, though, since I'd made it an hour or so before I needed it to go in the oven. I will make this again, but will probably try it as the patties next time. I will add more Dijon, too -- it was there but not strong enough for my taste. Leftovers are apparently pretty good, since my husband just ate them for breakfast with lots of Tabasco and some sunny-side-up eggs! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
Delicious! This is a "keeper". Similar to potato pancakes but, with another layer of flavor from the cabbage & carrot. We enjoyed topped with sour cream & dill. I am part Scottish and have never had Scottish food before. Thank you, Sanzoe, for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
These patties are great. I added a splash or two of red pepper flakes to add the ZIP I like! Fabulous! Low calorie, easy, delicious! What more can one ask for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
These were pretty good. I used the cabbage mix and that worked well. I was guessing what a pound of potatoes looked like, and I think I was way off. I only used about 5 small/med. pottoes and I got about 8 large patties. Anyway, I salted the whole mixture a bit, but I also decided to salt the patties as they were cooking. I think this helped with taste. I might try adding more cheese next time simply becuase I couldn't really tell there was any in there as I was eating them. And my hubby LOVES cheese with everything. Lastly, I was wondering if a whole onion would be too much-- I love onions in things like this and I thought it was perfect. My hubby doesn't like much onion and he has to have them cooked. He didn't complain at all- in fact he said "I didn't like potato pancaked growing up, but these are really good." I did serve these with a sourcream and dried dill weed dip. We loved that. There you have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lara C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pennycandy
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
made these as recipe states, and family loved them. i will definatly be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pennycandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
just realized i had forgotten to review this ... it is so good ... being scottish and all it was great even the dud liked it...will make it again and i liked the new review who used the coleslaw mix in a bag...for sure will make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Chef John's Breakfast Sausage Patties

The best way to wake up! See how to make simple homemade breakfast sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States