Scottish Bubbles and Squeak Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Unlike other reviewers, I didn't think there was anything really great about this. My potato patties held together just fine, but the flavor wasn't much better than just using leftover mashed potatoes and browning them. And that would be with a lot less effort than what was put into shredding cabbage and cheese, grating a carrot, and mincing an onion. Won't be making this again; sorry, it's just too ordinary in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I made this in May and put it on my list of comfort foods for any meal of the day. I was surprised how good they were. We grilled them on foil and only one stuck a little. I'm going to try freezing them since I read that it worked out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
These were GREAT! I made half exactly as written and added jalapeno to the other half to add a little zing. They were great both ways. I will be making these again. Thanks Sanzoe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I used leftover colcannon that I made from Diane's Colcannon from this site. So I didn't have the carrots in it. Great way to use up the leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I thought this was really good! I tripled the recipe to take to a pot luck, and it was well-received. I followed the recipe almost exactly, except I sauteed the onions in a little butter before mixing them into the rest. I did cook it differently, as suggested by another reviewer -- I spread the veggies into a 9 X 13 dish and topped them with the cheese, then cooked it at 375 for about 30 minutes (until it was warm and bubbly). The food was almost room temperature by the time I did this, though, since I'd made it an hour or so before I needed it to go in the oven. I will make this again, but will probably try it as the patties next time. I will add more Dijon, too -- it was there but not strong enough for my taste. Leftovers are apparently pretty good, since my husband just ate them for breakfast with lots of Tabasco and some sunny-side-up eggs! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Yum, these were delicious and reminded me of potato patties my mom used to make with leftovr mashed potatoes. I think I may even get the kids to eat cabbage in this dish (provided I don't tell them it's in there).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baking wifey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leland, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I'm rating these primarily on flavor, as my patties did not stay together well because of the way I made this. First, I used leftover mashed potatoes and in hindsight I realized they probably had a fair amount of milk and butter in them, and secondly I know I did not drain the cabbage/carrot mixture as well as I should have, so as the patties started to cook the liquid came out and they got pretty mushy and difficult to flip. However, they tasted AWESOME! I thought it would be too much onion - it was not at all! And I also kind of wrinkled my nose at the mustard, but it really worked in this, giving them a little extra twang of flavor. Funny thing is, as I was eating this I remembered that my grandfather always put mustard on his boiled cabbage, so I guess it's not as strange as I thought! :) I'll definitely make them again, but I'll used plain potatoes, mashed, and be sure to drain out as much liquid as possible. Thanks, Sanzoe! I definitely waited too long to try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Never mind that my patty making skills were a disaster-I ended up frying it all in a little oil in a skillet & putting it in casserole dish to serve. YUM!!!! I'm officially addicted! I even managed to hide some in the fridge so I can have some for breakfast-shhhhh! Without a doubt, I'll be making this again & again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
These are great! I've never heard of them, but encountered the recipe when I *met* sanzoe on the RE and was intrigued by them. I cheated (I'm kind of lazy) and used left over mashed potatoes (made w/just 1% milk and a tad of butter), bagged coleslaw mix, and pre shredded 2% cheddar. Since I'm a cheater, i had to *guesstimate* the amounts (esp since Mr. LTH got home from work early and helped himself to some of the potatoes I'd set aside!). I also realized I was out of onion, so I added a couple of dashes of minced/dried. I had no problem forming the patties...the only problem I had was my impatience in waiting for them to cook...I kept flipping them early, resulting in not the most attractive looking patties. I made mine first and made them in a non stick pan sprayed w/Pam. I do NOT recommend this! Mine had a very *off* taste to them. I then made Mr. LTH's in the same pan, coated w/a bit of butter and they were FABULOUS! I also added a couple of dashes of crushed red pepper for a little heat. TY for a great recipe, sanzoe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
We loved the flavor of these. Had trouble keping the patties together though. However, that could be out fault becase we madethe mixture earlier in the day and them shaped them cold. It didn't matter though because ecooked it "hash" style and let it get crispy in spots. Thanks for the recipe. We will make it again and next time we will follow the directions and shape the patties while it's still all warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Patties

Change up your breakfast routine with these zucchini pancakes.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States