Scottish Bubbles and Squeak Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
I essentially doubled the recipe, but because I was short on time I left it in a mashed potato state with the addition of a little margarine and milk. I used a coleslaw that contained carrots instead of just the cabbage and carrot separately. I cooked down the coleslaw mix & onions (added fresh garlic, would use more next time) before adding to the potatoes. I used a mild cheddar and Dijon mustard instead. Tasty, I'm sure as patties they would have been great but the first few I tried were taking far too long to brown and the rest of dinner (sausages and salad) were ready, and the guests were too hungry to wait lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
This recipe is unique and very tasty. I cooked the onion with the cabbage & carrot so everything was cooked before browning in the pan. To brown the patties, I melted a minimal amount of butter then just plopped a large spatula full onto the butter in the pan, then formed it into a patty with a fork. There is plenty of time to form these initially, and as you flip them, you will need to form them back into shape again...you are essentially trying to brown a mashed potato patty. The patties took a while to brown, but the end result looked nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Excellent flavor in this recipe but had an awful time trying to get them to stay together as patties. I tried non-stick spray and oil both and neither worked very well. After trying this recipe a second time and being unsuccessful with the first batch, I just ended up making a kind of "hash" with the rest of it - threw it all in a pan unformed and turned periodically. Very tasty nonetheless, despite the form issue, and this has become a regular meal. My family likes to top these with mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I used coleslaw mix and cooked the onion with it and the carrot. I decided to fry these in a little butter. The patties held together okay, but just didn't seem to brown very well. I added a little flour to the last batch, and they browned much better. I really liked this recipe and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Had this in files since October with good intentions but didn't make it until over the past weekend. I have no clue why I waited so long. Simple ingredients, even easier to put together and a delicious dish everybody loved. Gk's fell in love with the name and asked when I'd make it again. Soon, very soon!! Thank you, Sanzoe. Grrrreat recipe.l
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I took this to a Scottish-themed potluck and everyone loved it! I tripled the recipe and didn't have enough cheddar, so I added some Parmesan petals. The only problem I had was that the patties kept on sticking to my electric skillet, so they got a little misshapen in the cooking process. I'll have to try cooking them on something else in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
enjoyed these very much, but stuck in my fry pan, next time just broil both sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I came across this recipe while looking for a way to finish off some coleslaw mix. That was my only deviation from the recipe other than not peeling the potatoes. They had great flavor and everyone really enjoyed them. Quick, simple and delicious comfort food. I didn't have the problem some reviewers had with them falling apart. Just be sure to mash your potatoes as the recipe directs, without adding any milk or butter to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
What can I say? This BLEW my mind. So amazing. Been listening to my Scottish tunes all afternoon and this just completed the evening. My whole family liked it - even my Dad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Unlike other reviewers, I didn't think there was anything really great about this. My potato patties held together just fine, but the flavor wasn't much better than just using leftover mashed potatoes and browning them. And that would be with a lot less effort than what was put into shredding cabbage and cheese, grating a carrot, and mincing an onion. Won't be making this again; sorry, it's just too ordinary in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Patties

Change up your breakfast routine with these zucchini pancakes.

Lamb Merguez Sausage Patties

See how to make a spicy, super-flavorful lamb burger.

Oregon Salmon Patties

See how to make simple cracker crumb-breaded salmon patties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States