Scott Ure's Clams And Garlic Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
My only "complaint" about this recipe is that I wish it stated at what temperature to "steam" the clams. My husband and I had quite a disagreement. He wanted to bring it to a boil and then almost shut the heat off. I thought it would be hot enough. Our compromise was to turn the heat to medium for about 20 minutes. 49 out of the 50 clams opened. I was shocked to see how much liquor they make. I thought the small amount of wine wouldn't be enough. They were great. Definitely have a lot of crusty bread on hand. Linguine or some other pasta is great. My kids were so brave about trying them. I can't wait to make it again. We added some fresh lemon after they were cooked and it really brought out the flavor. Delicious! Oh, and scrub the clams really well. I got a lot of sand and gunk off them. THANKS for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
This was delicious! I used roasted garlic instead of regular garlic, used a full stick of butter, and added about 2 tbsp. of clam juice. Also, the juice of one lemon and sprinkled some crushed red pepper on top!! YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
I made this for dinner for Valentine's day & they were out of this world good! I used pinot grigio both in the sauce & as an accompaniment & it went exceedingly well. I served this w/ barely buttered, toasted french bread (very good dipped in the sauce), strawberry onion salad (from this site) & the pinot grigio. I had other courses planned & ready to eat but we enjoyed this so much that we decided to pig out on it & forego the other courses (we'll have them for dinner tonight). It was simply the best meal I have ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Joe and Jill
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
Excellent recipe! Best clams we've ever had at home. We like our clams well done, so we didn't have a lot of the juice left. Next time we'll add another 1/2 cup of wine and 1 tbsp of butter half way through steaming to ensure we have more juice because the little bit of juice we did have was so yummy!! We had this as an appetizer with white crusty baguette, so good! Excellent with the main course we had of Red Snapper with Orange-Almond Sauce. Adding this one into my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This was a fantastic simple fresh recipe. As an earlier reviewer suggested, I added a dash of oregano, a dash of red pepper flakes, and a medium can of diced tomatoes. The tomatoes were a great addition. Served it with pasta for a main dish (linguini). I'm making this for Christmas Eve with shrimp, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
We make steamed clams all the time, but never quite like this. We used both little necks and the real steamer clams. (the ones with the tail) They were so excellent Scott and the broth was incredible. I took your advice Stephanie and made the italian bread from this site and used it to soak up the broth. Hubby and his buddy were inhaling them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I gave this recipe a double punch after cooking with another big spritz of wine and salt/lemon. Cover and simmer one or two more minutes... its seems to bring the broth to new heights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Great EASY recipe! Steamed about 15-20 minutes. Served with Ceasar Salad, corn, and garlic/butter rice. Make sure you have some good dipping bread! Makes a lot of juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Delicious yet simple recipe! I've made this twice. Once the wine reduced, I added a can of crushed tomatoes my 2nd time around and added a bit more garlic, shallots and green onions for a fresh new taste. (cook the shallots first to get them tender) To wash clams, soak in fresh water for 20 min. then scoop up the clams (dont pour out) while the clams "breath" in the water they filter out the salty sand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inverness, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Turned out very good my hubby was so pleased he asked to have it like that again...we even added a few shrimp at the end after taking out the clams. then put them all together an drizzled with remaining sauce Sooo YUMMy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States