Scott Hibb's Amazing Whisky Grilled Baby Back Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
WOW! I'm a rib lover, and these are some of the best ribs I have ever had in my life! I was a little skeptical of the dry cooking (I have always basted them during the slow cooking process) but these turned out even better. A few tips: make sure that your aluminum foil packets are very tightly sealed so that no steam can escape. Before cooking, make sure you flip your rack of ribs over and remove the membrane along the back - it's usually tightly adhered, so you may have to cut it with a sharp knife and use a paper towel to peel it off. The sauce took about 2 1/2 hours to cook down to the correct consistency, so start making it right after you put the ribs in the oven. I didn't add any liquid smoke, and the flavor was still fantastic - although I did throw some wood chips on top of the charcoal. I didn't have any molasses, so substituted a mix of maple syrup and rum. Make sure you follow the instructions to brush on the sauce in the last few minutes of grilling, otherwise it will burn. Other than those few changes, I followed this recipe exactly. The level of spiciness was perfect and the sauce is AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
The best. my first attempt at ribs. So I made the sauce. seasoned the ribs. And smoked them on the gas grill. Really good oh no past so I use ketchup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Martinez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Yes I have tried them and they are very good. My wife don't eat ribs but she tried them for the first time and she loved them. I did leave one ingredient the smoke flavoring because she don't care for smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charles Wright

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Amazing recipe. Meat was "fall of the bone" and taste was wonderful. Sauce was tasty, time consuming but worth the effort. " Best ribs ever" from my husband. No changes at all to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
First time we've been happy with the ribs I've fixed! :-) The meat came off the bones with no effort -- very tender & juicy! My daughter said that the sauce was better than the stuff we buy (she tends to be critical of my cooking, so that was an extreme compliment from her). I started the sauce, reducing the salt to 1 tsp (we try to do lower sodium). Let it simmer for a while, tasted, and decided to make it sweeter. Added ~1-2 T Worcestershire sauce, ~2 T brown sugar, ~1 T honey, and ~1 tsp whiskey. I would have liked some more heat, but husband and daughter liked it this way. Oh -- I used ancho chile powder and smoked paprika, so I cut back on the liquid smoke. This was not a technically difficult recipe, it was just time-consuming. ~~~Thanks so much for sharing this recipe. I'm so happy to have fixed ribs that are not disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
This sauce is off the charts amazing!! We have faithfully used the same bbq sauce for years and I was out so I used this recipe on my ribs. No one wants anything to do with an other bbq sauce!! I used ketchup instead of paste because of availability and an entire shot of wild turkey whiskey... it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Loved it and was easier than I thought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
It's a very unique taste and very delicious. Definitely a 5 star
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Did not use liquid smoke (didn't have) and did not use whiskey other then that followed recipe. Loved it! Have made a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I have been using recipes off this site for nearly 8 years, but this is the first time I have felt strongly enough about a recipe to actually rate and review. This was my first time making ribs and they turned out perfectly, best ribs I've ever had and best sauce ever. I followed the recipe exactly, though I doubled the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 868) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scott's Amazing Whiskey Grilled Baby Back Ribs

Discover the secret to impossibly tender, fall-off-the-bone BBQ ribs.

How to Make Baked BBQ Baby Back Ribs

See how easy it is to make 5-star ribs in the oven.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States