Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I would not bring this mixture to a boil - the corn syrup will crystallize more and make your bars too crispy. You want to heat till all ingredients are melted together - just to boiling. Also, use one bag chocolate chips and half bag butterscotch chips for frosting - melt together in mixing bowl in microwave and stir every 1 minute till blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Love these. Use a little less cereal if you want them gooey-er! Easiest way to make the frosting is to heat your oven to warm while making the bars. Then just sprinkle the chocolate and butterschotch chips on top of the bars and slide them into the oven and turn it off. After about 10-15 minutes remove from the oven and swirl the chips with the back of a spoon to mix and spread evenly over the bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Love love love!!! perfect couldnt ask for a better treat. IF there to hard for you, its because you boiled you sugar mixture to long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmgisch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is an AWESOMELY EVIL recipe. Just try and have some self-control when they're around. Three important changes. First, I never bring the peanut butter mixture to a boil (just heat until sugar dissolves), to keep the bars from getting too hard. Second, I double the topping. And third (and most important change), spread the topping on the bars and sprinkle with sea salt. Gotta go make another pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Fantastic! I had problems with the chocolate, and they didn't look too pretty, but they disappeared super fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr.CMosher
Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I made these for Christmas goodie bags and they turned out very well. As other reviewers noted, I doubled the chocolate/butterscotch chip coating and it was just the right amount. Also, I cooked the peanut butter/sugar mixture just until it started to bubble and I had just enough time to stir in the cereal before it began to firm up. The description is right! These are a wonderful combo of flavors and textures. Very sweet and tasty. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HNECKONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
These are delicious! After you add the rice crisp mixture to the pan, to add a little more - pat in some peanut butter chips, then add the melted chocolate mixture - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I don't let a Holiday go by without making these! They are a family Favorite!! We never have left-overs either!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Love, love, love these treats! My sons ask me to make these for their birthday treats at school and for the holidays. So glad you posted the recipe to spread the joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsburg, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mexico, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
These are tasty, but I found them far too sweet. Will make again but probably increase the amount of peanut butter and reduce the sugar or corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florham Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States