Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
like others have said, i was thrilled to find this recipe -- these were a favorite "camping" treat for me when i was a kid. i did the topping like my mom used to -- i just spread the chips on top after pressing the rice krispie mixture into the pan. since the mixture was still warm, the chips softened and melted (i used more than this recipe calls for)...i just had to spread the topping as the chips softened/melted (they completely melt, and you don't have to use any more dishes by doing it this way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_i_n_a

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I doubled the topping as others had mentioned (in fact, I think I doubled the butterscotch and maybe even tripled the chocolate... I love chocolate). Instead of using the sugar and corn syrup, I melted the peanut butter with a bag of marshmallows for a chewier bar. I think that solves the problem some people were having with the hard bars. Really yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
These are fabulous on their own. But growing up my siblings and I would break a bar up and mix it in to vanilla ice cream. I still love to do it on occasion for a guilty pleasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ryan, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is my most craved indulgence. I make a whole pan of them just to have one serving and then bring the rest to work share with co-workers to avoid the temptation of devouring the whole batch. So quick and easy--15 minutes and you're done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These were really, really good, and the kids loved them (I used them in gifts baskets), but they were too sweet for me. Peanut butter is already a little sweet, so I think 1 cup is too much. Also, I used Jiff Creamy, but maybe if I tried a different brand, I'd get better results. Next time, I'll try half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
These were a hit on my Christmas candy trays. I even snuck some myself they were so good. However did have to double the chocolate and butterscotch topping since there was not enough to cover all of it. I also used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
tasty but too difficult to eat. I took one reviewers suggestion about not over boiling the peanut butter mixture but still the treat is too chewy stiff to enjoy. bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BESARO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
My daughter gives this rave reviews, eating most of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I thought these were a little too sweet. I would recommend milk chocolate chips instead of the semi-sweet chips. (I double the chips, too.) This recipe is different than rice krispies in that you have to stir it more to ensure all of the liquid gets incorporated. You also have more time because it doesn't setup as fast as rice krispie treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This recipe was awesome! The choclate/butterscotch topping stayed gooey and I don't know if that's how it's supposed to be but if it isn't messy, it isn't good, according to my kids. I've never had them before but really liked them. I also doubled the both chips and waited until the mixture started to bubble before taking it off of the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States