Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
i have been making these for seems like forever. if you want chewy bars using the 1 c. method for sugar, syrup and peanut butter but also use 1/4 c. margarine, bring sugar & syrup and margarine to a rolling boil stirring constantly and only for one minute, remove from heat add peanut butter, plus, i double everything so i use 1/2 c. margarine 2 cups everything else and a 15 oz. box of rice krispies. So making the frosting is a whole bag of semi sweet choc chips and one of butterscotch chips, i have found if you mix these together and micro for 2 minutes exactly, NO MORE, they will stir up just nicely. my double batch makes a 17x12 pan size of perfect bars. NEVER have my bars come out hard when you use the margarine and this method!!! Just chewy goodness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
294 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I made this recipe for work and every one loved it. It came out yummy. Very creamy with a balance of peanut butter, chocolate and butterscotch. The recipe was easy to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Everyone raves about these. Very Rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I made these for my holiday goodie baskets and sent a pan to my husband's work. He says, "You're making more of these for home, right?" Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
These were really good. There was not enough topping so I use the entire bag of both... They were really soft and tasted very good. Everyone at work commented how good they were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very good recipe, but bring sugar and corn syrup to just a boil, remove from heat, then add peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Easy! Everybody that eats these says they're the best rice krispie bar they've ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Seemed to be a big hit at the NYE party, as was suggested, I doubled the chocolate and butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is a good recipe. I didn't follow it exactly but these are the things I changed: I didn't use butterscotch, I used a 12 oz package of chocolate chips and I only used 1 cup of peanut butter. I used a smaller, square pan (8x8”) instead of a 9x13” pan. I have a square, silicone pan that works really well because I can remove the whole thing easily; makes it easier to cut that way since they are twice as thick as the original recipe! Plus the slices look cleaner. On top, I used a whole package of chocolate chips, and heated it in the oven for about 5-6 minutes @ 300°.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Our family loves these! I have been making these for over 20 years. The only difference is that I use a whole bag each of Semi-Chocolate Chips and Butterschotch Chips and instead of melting over the stove, I pour the bags into a microwave safe bowl and heat for 1 min, stir, and re-heat at 20 sec intervals stirring each time until melted and creamy and have thus avoided the dreaded scorching issue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States