Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
It's exactly what I wanted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This is a great treat! My mother took the recipe right off the Rice Krispy's box when I was young, and I am quite old now. The amounts and directions were a little different though. Yodabear said that hers got hard. I think if you would bring the sugar and corn syrup just to a boil until the sugar is just dissolved, then take it off the heat and add your peanut butter it won't turn out hard. The amounts in the recipe I had were... 1 cup karo, 1 cup sugar, one cup peanut butter. Then one cup semi sweet and one cup butterscotch chips. This is a family tradition at our house and my children and grandchildren don't think it is a holiday unless there is a HUGE pan of these. I double or triple the recipe on occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Always a great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
The key to the bars not coming out hard is not overcooking the sugar and syrup mixture. Just like how candy works. The hotter the sugar, the harder the candy. Also, a tip that makes the frosting easier to prepare is to pour the chips over the bars evenly. Place the pan in a warm oven (like 200 degrees) and let them slowly melt. Check frequently, every couple of minutes. The chips will hold shape but will be spreadable with a knife after just a little heating. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Best bars everyone eats up right away. Most important factor for these to not turn out hard is do not add p.b.with sugar and corn syrup until after it is brought to a simmer/boil. Do not over cook it. I stir and test by how it drips off spoon while heating. Then remove from burner and add p.b. they turn out perfect as long as it is not over cooked. I use 1 1/2 cups of sugar corn syrup and p.b.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
a favorite for 30+ years! Only change: use milk chocolate chips instead of semi sweet. I use a whole bags of each. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I've been making these for at least 40 years. The only difference is I have always used 1 cup peanut butter. I may have to try the 1-1/2 cups this recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I really go crazy with the topping. I use a whole package of semi-sweet chocolate chips and a whole package of butterscotch chips melted. Also, I don't let the peanut butter mixture boil or it's almost impossible to cut if you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I am not sure what I did wrong, but they were hard as a rock! I couldn't even cut them without putting all my weight on the knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Hands down, the easiest no fail party pleaser for kids dessert. These are gone as fast as I can make them. Our neighborhood kids come around and ask if I have made any because they are universally loved so much. It is a peanut butter, chocolate, rice crispy treat of goodness in every bite. n
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States