Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Love these! I made these for a tailgate party and the guys loved them! I made sure not to boil the mixture and my bars came out just gooey enough for my football fans. The few I took into the office disappeared before 10am! I used milk chocolate chips and doubled the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KEDY
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
These are delicious. Chewy, peanut-buttery, chocolately. As suggested by another reviewer, I JUST brought the sugar/peanut butter mixture to a boil. When I saw the first bubble surface, I removed it from the heat and stirred in the rice cereal. Plus, I only had 1/2 cup white sugar, so I used a 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
My husbands mom would make these when he was a kid and now we finally found the recipe, thanks so much! They turned out just like they used to...the only change is to use 1 cup of chocolate chips and 1 cup of butterscotch chips, otherwise you won't have enough to cover a 13x9 pan of the krispies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I like this recipe but I am not a big butterscotch lover so I replaced the butterscotch with milk chocolate and once with white chocolate. Both times they were excellent and go really fast. My family loves them refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Always a hit wherever we bring them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
My mom has been making these since she was a kid. They are so yummy... but very, very sweet. We usually cut the chocolate and butterscotch in half, or we drizzle it over the top in pretty designs... Everyone LOVES them..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reinalette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kelso, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Deliciously addictive. I used 1 cup of semi-sweet & butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
like others have said, i was thrilled to find this recipe -- these were a favorite "camping" treat for me when i was a kid. i did the topping like my mom used to -- i just spread the chips on top after pressing the rice krispie mixture into the pan. since the mixture was still warm, the chips softened and melted (i used more than this recipe calls for)...i just had to spread the topping as the chips softened/melted (they completely melt, and you don't have to use any more dishes by doing it this way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_i_n_a

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I doubled the topping as others had mentioned (in fact, I think I doubled the butterscotch and maybe even tripled the chocolate... I love chocolate). Instead of using the sugar and corn syrup, I melted the peanut butter with a bag of marshmallows for a chewier bar. I think that solves the problem some people were having with the hard bars. Really yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
These are fabulous on their own. But growing up my siblings and I would break a bar up and mix it in to vanilla ice cream. I still love to do it on occasion for a guilty pleasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ryan, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States