Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Seemed to be a big hit at the NYE party, as was suggested, I doubled the chocolate and butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is a good recipe. I didn't follow it exactly but these are the things I changed: I didn't use butterscotch, I used a 12 oz package of chocolate chips and I only used 1 cup of peanut butter. I used a smaller, square pan (8x8”) instead of a 9x13” pan. I have a square, silicone pan that works really well because I can remove the whole thing easily; makes it easier to cut that way since they are twice as thick as the original recipe! Plus the slices look cleaner. On top, I used a whole package of chocolate chips, and heated it in the oven for about 5-6 minutes @ 300°.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Our family loves these! I have been making these for over 20 years. The only difference is that I use a whole bag each of Semi-Chocolate Chips and Butterschotch Chips and instead of melting over the stove, I pour the bags into a microwave safe bowl and heat for 1 min, stir, and re-heat at 20 sec intervals stirring each time until melted and creamy and have thus avoided the dreaded scorching issue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
My husbands mom makes these all the time, but I can never get the recipe from her. We made them this weekend and they turned out great. My husband said they were better than his mothers!!!! I used the whole bag of chocolate and butter-scotch chips, because 1/2 a cup of each just wasn't enough. Be careful not to burn the peanut-butter. Happy Cookin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I have made these for years. My mom got the recipe from a freind we meant @ Osego Lake back in the late 60's early 70's. I use straight chocolate chips or mix with milk chocolate or peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clare, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Nanny used to make these for us 50 years ago and I made them for my kids and now I am hoping to make them for Grandchildren someday. I have found putting them in cupcake pans have been extremely helpful. No more cutting!! Works great for bake sales also. These are sooo good, a must have at every family function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Love these! I made these for a tailgate party and the guys loved them! I made sure not to boil the mixture and my bars came out just gooey enough for my football fans. The few I took into the office disappeared before 10am! I used milk chocolate chips and doubled the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KEDY
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
These are delicious. Chewy, peanut-buttery, chocolately. As suggested by another reviewer, I JUST brought the sugar/peanut butter mixture to a boil. When I saw the first bubble surface, I removed it from the heat and stirred in the rice cereal. Plus, I only had 1/2 cup white sugar, so I used a 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
My husbands mom would make these when he was a kid and now we finally found the recipe, thanks so much! They turned out just like they used to...the only change is to use 1 cup of chocolate chips and 1 cup of butterscotch chips, otherwise you won't have enough to cover a 13x9 pan of the krispies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I like this recipe but I am not a big butterscotch lover so I replaced the butterscotch with milk chocolate and once with white chocolate. Both times they were excellent and go really fast. My family loves them refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States