Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
As written, 3 stars. If boiling them makes them hard, and the recipe SAYS to boil, shame on the recipe. These would have been tasty except for how rock-hard they were! :( Next time I won't bring to the point of boiling. Other than that, good flavor and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
how can you not give scotcharoos a rating of 5? I made a pan of these at 8:00 at night and the enitre pan was gone by the time I was home from work the next day at 5:00.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Absolutely delicious! These made me feel ridiculously unhealthy after i saw all the chocolate and corn syrup that went into making it, but they taste awesome, and everyone who's tried it, absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
MMMMMmmmm!!!! They're gone already! Very rich! Everyone LOVED them! I like that the recipe is versitle too. Next time I will try with reeses chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I had these once when a coworker made them and was happy to come across this recipe when I was looking for a way to use up a box of cereal. For the chips, I used heaping 1/2 cups and just melted them in the microwave for 1 minute. Thanks for an easy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilchris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: London, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I made these with my boys on a recent snowday....they were so yummy!! I followed the suggestion of many of the other reviewers and didn't let the corn syrup/sugar mix get to boiling and they were perfect! I also made these last summer and used corn flakes instead of the rice krispies. I took them on a camping trip with the hubby's family and they were gone within hours! They also pack very well in my sons' lunch box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These were so simple to make and turn out DELICIOUS! I took another reviewers' advice and didn't BOIL the pb/syrup/sugar mixture and they turned out beautifully chewy, not hard. Anytime you boil corn syrup it will turn rock hard: that's how you make rock candy. I also used 4 T butter in mine like another viewer... this probably helped with the nice chewy texture, like a rice krispy treat. Thanks for the recipe! I'll be making this for the family a lot now, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Next time, I'll have to put the chocolate on top rather than mixing it all together. Also, I only had corn flakes so I'll have to try using Rice Crispies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Oh My Goodness - Yummy! As others say, do NOT boil - just heat until the peanut butter is fully melted or they will get very hard. Double the chocolate topping if you want it to be a thick layer. They made a wonderful addition to the holiday assortment of goodies I served. I WILL be making these many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I made these as part of my holiday cookie assortment, and these were by far the favorite of the bunch. They're pretty much an amped up version of a Rice Krispies treat, so you can't really go wrong with that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakebean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States