Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
i have been making these for seems like forever. if you want chewy bars using the 1 c. method for sugar, syrup and peanut butter but also use 1/4 c. margarine, bring sugar & syrup and margarine to a rolling boil stirring constantly and only for one minute, remove from heat add peanut butter, plus, i double everything so i use 1/2 c. margarine 2 cups everything else and a 15 oz. box of rice krispies. So making the frosting is a whole bag of semi sweet choc chips and one of butterscotch chips, i have found if you mix these together and micro for 2 minutes exactly, NO MORE, they will stir up just nicely. my double batch makes a 17x12 pan size of perfect bars. NEVER have my bars come out hard when you use the margarine and this method!!! Just chewy goodness!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
One of my favorite treats, ever since I learned how to make it at church daycare as a very small child. It really is wonderful to make with small children and you can make a sweet treat with ingredients that cost next to nothing and are usually found in your pantry. NOTE: Instead of butterscotch chips in the "frosting", I like to use Reese's peanut butter chips. My family can't keep their hands off of them! Try it for yourself, you'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This has been a family 'staple' for holidays, birthdays, any special occaision. My suggestion, do NOT allow the syrup/sugar mixture to boil, that will cause hard as rock bars. Heat the syrup/sugar mixture, stirring constantly, just until bubbles come to the surface, then remove from heat! Awesome treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2002
Great recepie! I also doubled the chocolate and butterscotch chips for the top. I melted everything in the microwave too - I used 50% heat and stirred frequently and everything turned out great. I tried other cereals too when we were out of crispies. Chex and cornflakes were good. wheaties were too tough. Everyone seems to love these!!!!! Oh, and if you use light peanut butter they dont turn out so good.. they're really hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2004
My mom really loved these but i found them too hard. I'm wondering if I had done something wrong. Instead of leaving them out to cool i put them in the fridge. Could this have caused the hardness?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
Mouth-watering, chewy, sweet, and sinful. Once you've tried these, they will always be a temptation. They are the BEST!!! I've been a fan for years now. If you like Rice Krispy Treats, these are far, far better. We make it with 1 cup of both the choclate & butterscotch chips. YOU MUST TRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Very good recipe, but bring sugar and corn syrup to just a boil, remove from heat, then add peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
I doubled the topping as others had mentioned (in fact, I think I doubled the butterscotch and maybe even tripled the chocolate... I love chocolate). Instead of using the sugar and corn syrup, I melted the peanut butter with a bag of marshmallows for a chewier bar. I think that solves the problem some people were having with the hard bars. Really yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
For those who'd rather not use straight corn syrup, melt a regular-sized bag of mini marshmallows and mix with peanut butter. You can also use a dark Agave syrup in place of the corn syrup. Sweet-maple-like flavor, or make a sweet syrup of your own by adding 2 parts sugar to 1 part water that's warm enough to melt the sugar completely. You might need to add slightly more peanut butter to get the consistency desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
like others have said, i was thrilled to find this recipe -- these were a favorite "camping" treat for me when i was a kid. i did the topping like my mom used to -- i just spread the chips on top after pressing the rice krispie mixture into the pan. since the mixture was still warm, the chips softened and melted (i used more than this recipe calls for)...i just had to spread the topping as the chips softened/melted (they completely melt, and you don't have to use any more dishes by doing it this way).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_i_n_a

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States