Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These were really, really good, and the kids loved them (I used them in gifts baskets), but they were too sweet for me. Peanut butter is already a little sweet, so I think 1 cup is too much. Also, I used Jiff Creamy, but maybe if I tried a different brand, I'd get better results. Next time, I'll try half the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
These were a hit on my Christmas candy trays. I even snuck some myself they were so good. However did have to double the chocolate and butterscotch topping since there was not enough to cover all of it. I also used milk chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
tasty but too difficult to eat. I took one reviewers suggestion about not over boiling the peanut butter mixture but still the treat is too chewy stiff to enjoy. bummer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BESARO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
My daughter gives this rave reviews, eating most of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Perry, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I thought these were a little too sweet. I would recommend milk chocolate chips instead of the semi-sweet chips. (I double the chips, too.) This recipe is different than rice krispies in that you have to stir it more to ensure all of the liquid gets incorporated. You also have more time because it doesn't setup as fast as rice krispie treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This recipe was awesome! The choclate/butterscotch topping stayed gooey and I don't know if that's how it's supposed to be but if it isn't messy, it isn't good, according to my kids. I've never had them before but really liked them. I also doubled the both chips and waited until the mixture started to bubble before taking it off of the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
We make these all the time, but like other reviewers said, use an 11 oz. bag of butterscotch chips and a cup of chocolate chips. Turns out super sweet and peanut-buttery and butterscotch-y. When I first tried these I couldn't place the flavor, but I loved it. Butterscotch- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This turned out great!! I doubled the topping and it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Easy to make. I doubled the chocolate topping recipe - makes for a thicker chocolate topping. Hardens well...one option may be to use corn flakes instead of rice crispies. I also used extra crunchy peanut butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This has been a family 'staple' for holidays, birthdays, any special occaision. My suggestion, do NOT allow the syrup/sugar mixture to boil, that will cause hard as rock bars. Heat the syrup/sugar mixture, stirring constantly, just until bubbles come to the surface, then remove from heat! Awesome treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States