Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Seemed to be a big hit at the NYE party, as was suggested, I doubled the chocolate and butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is a good recipe. I didn't follow it exactly but these are the things I changed: I didn't use butterscotch, I used a 12 oz package of chocolate chips and I only used 1 cup of peanut butter. I used a smaller, square pan (8x8”) instead of a 9x13” pan. I have a square, silicone pan that works really well because I can remove the whole thing easily; makes it easier to cut that way since they are twice as thick as the original recipe! Plus the slices look cleaner. On top, I used a whole package of chocolate chips, and heated it in the oven for about 5-6 minutes @ 300°.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Our family loves these! I have been making these for over 20 years. The only difference is that I use a whole bag each of Semi-Chocolate Chips and Butterschotch Chips and instead of melting over the stove, I pour the bags into a microwave safe bowl and heat for 1 min, stir, and re-heat at 20 sec intervals stirring each time until melted and creamy and have thus avoided the dreaded scorching issue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Lynnwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
My husbands mom makes these all the time, but I can never get the recipe from her. We made them this weekend and they turned out great. My husband said they were better than his mothers!!!! I used the whole bag of chocolate and butter-scotch chips, because 1/2 a cup of each just wasn't enough. Be careful not to burn the peanut-butter. Happy Cookin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I have made these for years. My mom got the recipe from a freind we meant @ Osego Lake back in the late 60's early 70's. I use straight chocolate chips or mix with milk chocolate or peanut butter chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clare, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Nanny used to make these for us 50 years ago and I made them for my kids and now I am hoping to make them for Grandchildren someday. I have found putting them in cupcake pans have been extremely helpful. No more cutting!! Works great for bake sales also. These are sooo good, a must have at every family function.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Love these! I made these for a tailgate party and the guys loved them! I made sure not to boil the mixture and my bars came out just gooey enough for my football fans. The few I took into the office disappeared before 10am! I used milk chocolate chips and doubled the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KEDY
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
These are delicious. Chewy, peanut-buttery, chocolately. As suggested by another reviewer, I JUST brought the sugar/peanut butter mixture to a boil. When I saw the first bubble surface, I removed it from the heat and stirred in the rice cereal. Plus, I only had 1/2 cup white sugar, so I used a 1/2 cup of brown sugar, and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KEDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Palma, California, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
My husbands mom would make these when he was a kid and now we finally found the recipe, thanks so much! They turned out just like they used to...the only change is to use 1 cup of chocolate chips and 1 cup of butterscotch chips, otherwise you won't have enough to cover a 13x9 pan of the krispies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
I like this recipe but I am not a big butterscotch lover so I replaced the butterscotch with milk chocolate and once with white chocolate. Both times they were excellent and go really fast. My family loves them refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States