Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Wonderful! Do NOT boil - just heat until the peanut butter is fully melted. If you boil for a long time, the bars will get very hard. Double the chocolate topping if you want it to be a thick layer. Used natural peanut butter and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is a family stable. I have been able to do this recipe from memory since junior high. My only suggestion is don't let the sugar, syrup, peanut butter boil. Make sure it's well mixed and the sugar dissolved and when it starts to bubble a few times then mix it with the rice crispies. Can also melt the choc and butterscotch chips in microwave, just don't burn them. Another suggestion for Christmas (or anytime) is instead of putting it into pans, drop the mixture by large spoonfuls onto wax paper and let cool. Drizzle with or dip mounds in the choc/butterscotch and then sprinkle those little colored candy balls (forget their real name) on the top while the choc is still wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Oh my god! Heaven in a bar! I just made these, cut them while they were still warm, and my husband and I already had 2 a piece! We'll be sending some with him to work tomorrow to avoid eating the whole pan. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Sooo yummy! I used the method recommended by another poster to melt the chips right on top of the crispies mixture, and it worked great! They ended up a little hard to chew, but that could be because it's been pretty cold in the house. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
These were awesome! I brought them to a party recently and everyone loved them. I would suggest only refrigerating them for an hour before cutting them into squares, otherwise they get too hard and you have to wait for them to get to room temperature before you can cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
awesome! A usual, I ruined the chocolate when I heated it, So I used peanut butter chips and chocolate chips, and didn't ruin them. Great recipe. I love peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobby Tarsus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Photo by Auntie D in MN
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Very good and easy to make. I put it together in under 10 minutes. BEST REVIEWER TIP: Do not let the peanut butter sugar mixture boil, as it will make the bars hard as rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
YUMMMMMY!!! Perfect receipe!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amoore11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I used only 1 cup of peanut butter and a whole cup each of the chocolate and butterscotch chips. They are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DANIELLE BEATTY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
When I was in high school, we always made these for our girls lacrosse diners together (yeah i know not the healthiest snack for a sports team, but we were young, with no waistlines to worry about) that being 10 years ago, I had lost the recipe, so excited to find it again Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States