Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Making these bars can be easy once you know exactly what is required. I have attempted making them several times and the results have been hard chewy bars. This time I used several of the other review recommendations. I bought 11.5 oz bags of morsels. I measured a little over two cups of the combined morsels; Heavier on the butterscotch. I used a heavy bottomed sauce pan just large enough to accomodate the sugar, syrup, peanut butter and rice krispies when cooked and mixed together. I placed it on my medium sized burner over medium heat and cooked the sugar and karo syrup stirring constantly only until the syrup close to the edge of the pan begin to simmer. I may take it off the heat when the sugar is melted next time as some recommeded. I added 1 cup of peanut butter and mixed it until it was melted then added the cereal and mixed. I patted it gently into a well buttered 9x13" dish. I melted the morsels together in the microwave in a pyrex bowl large enough to accommodate two cups. I heated the morsels for forty seconds stirred the morsels and returned to the microwave heating at 15 second intervals until they were melted. I then iced the rice krispies. The result was a bar pretty close to perfect. I received rave rewiews and requests for the recipe. I think the secret to avoiding the hard chewy bars is using a heavy pan or heavy bottomed pan and not letting it boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Fantastic. The bars turned out very hard, so I am going to not let the mixture come to a boil next time and see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Yummy! Needs more 'scotch' taste though. next time would probably adjust to 3/4 c. butterscotch chips and 1/2 c. choc chips. took the advice of others and cooked just until started to boil and then removed from heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Delicious. I was worried they would be too sticky and hard to press in & then get out of the pan, but I didn't have any trouble. Instead of butter, I sprayed the pan with Pam. Fun to make with kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Absolutly delicious! They're addicting! I give it 5 and a half stars! My only complaint: the first time the chocolate burned so I suggest melting the chocolate in a bowl in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I make these every Holiday Season and get nothing but rave reviews...they are simple to make, only have a minimal number of ingredients, and the results are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Easy and quick. Like the other reviewers, I doubled the chocolate chips and butterscotch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
Wonderful! Do NOT boil - just heat until the peanut butter is fully melted. If you boil for a long time, the bars will get very hard. Double the chocolate topping if you want it to be a thick layer. Used natural peanut butter and it worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This is a family stable. I have been able to do this recipe from memory since junior high. My only suggestion is don't let the sugar, syrup, peanut butter boil. Make sure it's well mixed and the sugar dissolved and when it starts to bubble a few times then mix it with the rice crispies. Can also melt the choc and butterscotch chips in microwave, just don't burn them. Another suggestion for Christmas (or anytime) is instead of putting it into pans, drop the mixture by large spoonfuls onto wax paper and let cool. Drizzle with or dip mounds in the choc/butterscotch and then sprinkle those little colored candy balls (forget their real name) on the top while the choc is still wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Oh my god! Heaven in a bar! I just made these, cut them while they were still warm, and my husband and I already had 2 a piece! We'll be sending some with him to work tomorrow to avoid eating the whole pan. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States