Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
As written, 3 stars. If boiling them makes them hard, and the recipe SAYS to boil, shame on the recipe. These would have been tasty except for how rock-hard they were! :( Next time I won't bring to the point of boiling. Other than that, good flavor and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
how can you not give scotcharoos a rating of 5? I made a pan of these at 8:00 at night and the enitre pan was gone by the time I was home from work the next day at 5:00.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Absolutely delicious! These made me feel ridiculously unhealthy after i saw all the chocolate and corn syrup that went into making it, but they taste awesome, and everyone who's tried it, absolutely loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
MMMMMmmmm!!!! They're gone already! Very rich! Everyone LOVED them! I like that the recipe is versitle too. Next time I will try with reeses chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I had these once when a coworker made them and was happy to come across this recipe when I was looking for a way to use up a box of cereal. For the chips, I used heaping 1/2 cups and just melted them in the microwave for 1 minute. Thanks for an easy treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilchris

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: London, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I made these with my boys on a recent snowday....they were so yummy!! I followed the suggestion of many of the other reviewers and didn't let the corn syrup/sugar mix get to boiling and they were perfect! I also made these last summer and used corn flakes instead of the rice krispies. I took them on a camping trip with the hubby's family and they were gone within hours! They also pack very well in my sons' lunch box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VTmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These were so simple to make and turn out DELICIOUS! I took another reviewers' advice and didn't BOIL the pb/syrup/sugar mixture and they turned out beautifully chewy, not hard. Anytime you boil corn syrup it will turn rock hard: that's how you make rock candy. I also used 4 T butter in mine like another viewer... this probably helped with the nice chewy texture, like a rice krispy treat. Thanks for the recipe! I'll be making this for the family a lot now, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rockford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Next time, I'll have to put the chocolate on top rather than mixing it all together. Also, I only had corn flakes so I'll have to try using Rice Crispies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Oh My Goodness - Yummy! As others say, do NOT boil - just heat until the peanut butter is fully melted or they will get very hard. Double the chocolate topping if you want it to be a thick layer. They made a wonderful addition to the holiday assortment of goodies I served. I WILL be making these many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
I made these as part of my holiday cookie assortment, and these were by far the favorite of the bunch. They're pretty much an amped up version of a Rice Krispies treat, so you can't really go wrong with that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakebean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States