Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
For those who'd rather not use straight corn syrup, melt a regular-sized bag of mini marshmallows and mix with peanut butter. You can also use a dark Agave syrup in place of the corn syrup. Sweet-maple-like flavor, or make a sweet syrup of your own by adding 2 parts sugar to 1 part water that's warm enough to melt the sugar completely. You might need to add slightly more peanut butter to get the consistency desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
We love Scotcharoos and this was a great recipe. I also doubled the butterscotch and chocolate chips for the top. Mmmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
a little to much peanut butter but still good. next time i will just use less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Easy and soo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beckyp382

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lebanon, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Use 1/2 cup butterscotch and semi-sweet chocolate chips. Do not boil the peanut butter, corn syrup and sugar mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Delicious - a nice alternative to Rice Krispie Treats. Three recommendations and one caution: 1) I decided to try microwaving the corn syrup, peanut butter and sugar and it worked well. I did one minute at a time, stirring between minutes, and only for 3 minutes total. 2) To spread the mixture in your 13x9 pan, use a spatula well-sprayed with a butter-flavored Pam or Crisco. It let me pack the mixture firmly and make an even flat top, which helps the chocolate set evenly. 3) I did up the chips to 3/4 of a cup of each and that put a perfect amount of "icing" on top. The caution: sprinkling the chips on top of the pb mixture without melting them first (as suggested in other reviews) did not work for me - they did not melt enough to spread. I may not have moved quickly enough so the pb mixture wasn't very warm. I need to melt the chips in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
These are very good but I do wish the recipe would change because I didn't read the reviews until AFTER I made them the first time and they got very hard! So I decided to read the reviews and saw the error of boiling the mixture instead of just slowly heating the pb until it melts. When done right they are very good...they just need to FIX THE RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I have been making these for ten years. They are great and easy to make. As I have read in previous reviews, I suggest to SLOWLY bring to a slight boil, and then add crispies. This allows you to have soft, chewy bars. I also use the microwave for the topping. 1 c Chocolate, 1c butterscotch, in microwave save bowl. Microwave ONLY 1 minute on high, stir, and pour over your pan of scotcharoos. Let sit a few hours, and they will cut much nicer. Also, the easiest recipe to remember: 1c clear corn syrup (half a container), 1c peanut butter (half a container), 1c sugar, 1c chocolate chips (I use milk chocolate), 1c butterscoth chips, {1 min in microwave}, and 6c cereal. I sometimes use the holiday colored cereal for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This is my first ever review but I just had to do it! My husband will tell you that I'm no Betty Crocker, and I won't disagree! I read the reviews before trying to get pointers. I added 1/4 mar. to the sugar/corn syrup and brought to "just" barely boiling. I waited for the top layer to be completely covered with bubbles before removing from heat. Then added the peanut butter. They turned out soft and chewy! I used 1 1/2 c each of the choc and butterscotch chips on top...MAGNIFICENT!!! My family LOVED them! My teenage son drooled longingly over the second pan I made. Everyone wins in my house with these! Will def keep this recipe around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
the butter/chocochip layer was way too small & the batter itself was hard. I definetley wont be making this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States