Scotcharoos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
WOW - Am I the only person on here who thought this things were sickeningly sweet - like to the point of inedible - Followed the recipe exactly (mine even look like the pic shown) and thought to myself a whole cup of sugar and a whole cup of corn syrup - prolly cost me over $10 in ingredients :( I feel bad giving a bad review but I wish at least one person had mentioned how terribly sweet they were - I only make recipes with high ratings and good reviews - Im just so shocked no one else thought these were as bad as I did - and I do have a very strong sweet tooth Also thought the krispies mixture ended up having a stale cardboard like texture to them Did I do something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Prescott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
Man these are good. Followed suggestions and doubled topping. Still didn't seem like enough :) Stomach ache yummy! WAY SWEET! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
My mother made these, we called them "Special K Bars" Super rich, You can just drizzle the butterscotch/chocolate mixture if you don't want them to be as rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
These scotcharoos are the real deal. As others have said, you will definitely want more chocolatey frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Eat like a Goat

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
These bars are delicious and easy to make. I melted the chocolate and butterscotch chips for about a minute in the microwave, instead of using the stove top. They refrigerate well in warm weather, and also freeze well if you want to fix a batch in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
Delish!! I halfed the recipe. I'm glad I did! I would have eaten every last bite of the other half!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopkinsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
So sweet and buttery. I love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
These are excellent and a classic. We aren't big butterscotch people so I used peanut butter chips instead of butterscotch. I also doubled the chips on top to have a nice chocolately layer on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesusIsTheWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I make these all the time and they are so good! Admittedly, they are kind of a lot of work but well worth it! Beware: plan to give some away because otherwise you will eat them all! So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megallyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Very good. I will definitely be making these again. I think next time I will heat the mixture only until bubbles start to come to the surface.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States