Scotch Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This is the second recipe I've used for Scottish Shortbread cookies, and while almost the same, this one was WAY better! The texture was great and my husband loves them! I added a little vanilla extract and lined my pan with wax paper to make it easy to get out. Super delicious and exactly what I was going for. I also let them cook 5 minutes before poking with a fork so they didn't crumble, then watched them in the oven and took them out as soon as the edges started to brown. Highly recommend this recipe for someone looking for Shortbread cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These cookies have been made in my family for over well over 100 years. The key to them being the "best" is 1) Use butter that is at room temperature and handle the cookies very carefully, because they are very very soft but worth the work. 2) You have to make them at least 2 weeks ahead and keep them in an airtight tin so that they can mellow and this really bring out the buttery flavour. 3) My family rolls them out to about 1/2" and cuts them in a small circle with a tiny bit of maraschino cherry in the centre. 4) You only bake them until they are just set, they should still be white when you take them out of the oven and the bottoms just a tiny bit toasted and definitely use parchment paper. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Very good, for so little ingredients! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Berne, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Perfect buttery flavor, not too sweet, and melt in your mouth soft texture. P;us it's an easy/fast recipe. Love the fact that they are made like a bar cookie. I used a food processor to easily mix the ingredients (had to split the ingredients into two parts to fit in machine's bowl).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
So easy and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I cut this recipe in half because I did not want to waste a whole pound of butter if they we not good. They wewe AWSOME! Very easy to make,I put sugar and butter into my kitchenaide mixer mixed until it was nice and smooth ,slowly added flour, dumped it onto the pan pressed it down EASY PEASY! MY only addition was to add 1 t vanilla and 1/2 t almond flavoring. Next time I will make the whole batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Very disappointed in this recipe. Wasted good butter and flour. They were tasteless. A sweet Scottish neighbor used to make us this for Christmas and it was always buttery and just delicious...this is NOT that recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
These are tasty! I get a kick out of making something with only three ingredients. At first, I was a little worried because the dough seemed very dry and crumbly, but I pat the dough down onto a baking pan, put it in the oven and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I changed it a bit by 3 cups white flour and 1 cup wheat flour. I also used 1-1 sugar substitute and flattened balls to make 1/4 inch thick cookies. Bakes 325 for 35 minutes. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Springchild

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sitka, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous!!!! Just like my mother used to make when I was a child. Just perfec!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States