Scotch Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Good recipe! I too baked them in the oven although I did 350 for about 20 minutes. I also used half and half for a richer scone instead of milk and used dried cherries! Rolled them out and cut them with a round cutter for a more traditional look! Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandycooky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shingletown, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Very good! Just sweet enough, but not overly. Be careful cooking them in the skillet in you have a gas stove- you'll want them thin and the heat very low. For the sake of experimentation, I also baked a few in the oven- I liked them better from the skillet. Also, they (technically) should be called Scottish, as Scotch is a drink, not a people. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
This recipe is amazing - my husband doesn't like raisins, so we usually omit them, but keep the rest of the recipe ingredients "as is". We always cook in the oven, though, rather than on stovetop for about 20minutes at approximately 375F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Makes lovely, moist scones. I used only half a cup of sugar, and they were plenty sweet enough, even for a sugar lover like me. I tried cooking half of them on the stove top, and half of them in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes, and they both turned out quite well, although the ones cooked in the oven were a little bit drier. Either way, the best scone recipe I have found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Yummy! This is the best scone recipe I have tried. The ones at the store are so sweet but most of the recipes I have found are so dry and tasteless. I tried several different kinds - plain, chocolate chip, and my favorite...blueberry with orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
These just came out of the oven and I've already eaten two!!! they're delicious!! I cooked them in the oven at 375 for 20 minutes, like another user. Also, I had to use margarine since I didn't have enough butter. Next time I'll make sure I have butter on hand...and there were absolutely be a next time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carolineskr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Living In: Norcross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I loved this recipe and will definitely make again. My family ate it up right away. I followed the recipe almost exactly, cooking on the stove as directed, and was surprised at how well they came out after other reviewers suggested baking in the oven. The only change I made was to substitute soymilk for milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
scones are not mend to be flat like this they taste nice family love them but theres no where to put the jam :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Falkirk, Stirlingshire, Scotland, U.K.
Living In: Sheffield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
I baked these instead of grilling and they turned out perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Yoho

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Good, however, my dough came out very gooey; to which I simply added more flour. Omitted the raisins and added coarsely chopped fresh cranberries and lemon zest. Dropped dough onto a cookie sheet and baked in oven as other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

World's Best Scones! From Scotland to the Savoy

As the recipe title claims, these just might be the World’s Best Scones!

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States