Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
My family loves these. Although we call them buried eggs and I do change some things. First I mix half sausage and half turkey along with spices together so it's not so greasy. Then after covering the egg I roll them in crushed pecans and bake them on 325 for 40-45 min. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Very, very delicious! You must try this recipe! If you like eggs, you'll love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These are wonderful. I love to take to parties because they disappear very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
My personal opinion it's to die for served with a good mustard and a black and tan beer. only then one can say they have eaten. It is worth the effort to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
The first time I tried these was at a Renaissance Faire. This is a very tasty recipe although not one I can eat on a regular basis (grin). I would like to mention that the cooler the meat & eggs are when you begin molding, the easier they are to make. I also like to dip my hands in very cold water before molding each one as my hands are always very warm and the fat in the sausage has a tendency liquify quickly. Definitely dust the eggs with flour before appling the sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
my boyfriend is from scotland and i am practicing making a few different things from his homeland. it was a little hard to get the sausage wrapped around the egg(they're slippery little suckers)but i figured it out. i used a package hollandaise sauce and added a tbls of dijon mustard to it. i suppose any mustard you like would do. the sauce was delicious and so was the egg. i'm trying to figure out a away to keep the egg soft bolied though. i think it would be much tastier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I've been eating these since I was a little girl and them are wonderful, though incredibly bad for you if fried. I've been looking for a great baked recipe and here it is. I added a little pepper to the pork which gave it an added kick. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Personally? I loved them and my husband seemed to enjoy them, but my kids (picky eaters, to be sure) didnt like them too much. (I dont like boiled eggs, I dont like hollendaise sauce, etc...) I'm still giving this recipe a 5 star rating because DH and I truly enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This became a christmas tradition. After all these years I am up to cooking about 40 per season and they always run out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
In Belgium, this recipe is called "Bird's nest". It is served with mashed potatoes and covered in tomato sauce. Very yummie. I bake them completely in the oven, without frying them first. As delicious and less greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meurtelken

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States