Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Very, very delicious! You must try this recipe! If you like eggs, you'll love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
My personal opinion it's to die for served with a good mustard and a black and tan beer. only then one can say they have eaten. It is worth the effort to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
The first time I tried these was at a Renaissance Faire. This is a very tasty recipe although not one I can eat on a regular basis (grin). I would like to mention that the cooler the meat & eggs are when you begin molding, the easier they are to make. I also like to dip my hands in very cold water before molding each one as my hands are always very warm and the fat in the sausage has a tendency liquify quickly. Definitely dust the eggs with flour before appling the sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This became a christmas tradition. After all these years I am up to cooking about 40 per season and they always run out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These are wonderful. I love to take to parties because they disappear very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
my boyfriend is from scotland and i am practicing making a few different things from his homeland. it was a little hard to get the sausage wrapped around the egg(they're slippery little suckers)but i figured it out. i used a package hollandaise sauce and added a tbls of dijon mustard to it. i suppose any mustard you like would do. the sauce was delicious and so was the egg. i'm trying to figure out a away to keep the egg soft bolied though. i think it would be much tastier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
My family loves these. Although we call them buried eggs and I do change some things. First I mix half sausage and half turkey along with spices together so it's not so greasy. Then after covering the egg I roll them in crushed pecans and bake them on 325 for 40-45 min. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I've been eating these since I was a little girl and them are wonderful, though incredibly bad for you if fried. I've been looking for a great baked recipe and here it is. I added a little pepper to the pork which gave it an added kick. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Personally? I loved them and my husband seemed to enjoy them, but my kids (picky eaters, to be sure) didnt like them too much. (I dont like boiled eggs, I dont like hollendaise sauce, etc...) I'm still giving this recipe a 5 star rating because DH and I truly enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
In Belgium, this recipe is called "Bird's nest". It is served with mashed potatoes and covered in tomato sauce. Very yummie. I bake them completely in the oven, without frying them first. As delicious and less greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Van de Moortele

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States