Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
The first time I tried these was at a Renaissance Faire. This is a very tasty recipe although not one I can eat on a regular basis (grin). I would like to mention that the cooler the meat & eggs are when you begin molding, the easier they are to make. I also like to dip my hands in very cold water before molding each one as my hands are always very warm and the fat in the sausage has a tendency liquify quickly. Definitely dust the eggs with flour before appling the sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Very good. I use Jimmy Dean Maple Sauasage. To cut back on fat, I bake these at 350 for 45 minutes. My kids (2&8) love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
These were very good. I baked mine instead of frying. I had to modify this a little as I'm not a huge fan of pork or sausage for that matter. But I love scotch eggs, go figure. Grinding your own meat and spicing it works great. Also I was lacking bread and crumbs at the moment so I substituted with a mixture of Scottish oatmeal, oat bran, and white corn meal with some Italian seasoning and granulated garlic. Worked wonderfully. The one thing that kept this form being a five star rating is the wastefulness. The first time I made these, even though I used less than the recipe called for, I still had so much egg, flour, and meal left over that I added a little milk and baking soda and made drop biscuits. The second time I got along fine with 1/4 cup of flour and 3/4 to 1 cup for the meal/bread crumbs and 2 eggs or 1/4 cup of egg beaters. Remember you can always add more but once the ingredients have come in contact with raw meat and eggs it must be either cooked into something or tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Thank you for this recipe. My husband talked about these being served at a restaurant he used to frequent. He's Irish, I'm Scottish - never heard of them. Go figure. I followed the recipe for the most part but gleaned tips from some of the reviews: I used Jimmy Dean's sausage, increased to 6 eggs for 2 lbs sausage, used Panko bread crumbs and 2 eggs for dipping was fine. I placed them all in a large oven safe skillet, browned stove top, then put the skillet in the oven for 40 minutes. I served sliced in half on large lettuce "cups" with 1/2 cup mayo and 3 Tablespoons Frenches Honey Mustard blended on the side. SO cute! I will use this instead of my breakfast casserole occasionally for company. Also, the night before, I have cooked eggs, encased with sausage and refrigerated. In the morning, dip in egg, bread, brown and bake in the morning. SOOO good with cinnamon rolls and fresh fruit! Different, easy and nice presentation! Sorry for long review and changes but thought it was worth sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I make these all the time. Personally, I get 8 Scotch eggs from 2 pounds of pork sausage. I usually use Panko breadcrumbs as they get so crunchy and delish. You don't need 4 beaten eggs to coat them - 2 is ample. I spray a skillet with Pam and brown them on all sides before baking them in the oven for about 30 mins. I love them with Branston pickle, Husband has his with spicy mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
A change for the better. I have made these for years and even had them featured on a cooking segment on TV. Switch out the pork for Jimmy Dean Sausage. It makes for such a better dish. And you can get it in mild, medium or Hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
Recipe needed a little help- I baked (325 for 45 min)instead of frying and turned out great served with hollandaise sauce and family loved it-not a recipe to make on a monthly basis but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
My personal opinion it's to die for served with a good mustard and a black and tan beer. only then one can say they have eaten. It is worth the effort to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Very, very delicious! You must try this recipe! If you like eggs, you'll love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I did not like this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States