Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
My personal opinion it's to die for served with a good mustard and a black and tan beer. only then one can say they have eaten. It is worth the effort to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2002
Very, very delicious! You must try this recipe! If you like eggs, you'll love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I did not like this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I loved these eggs!!! I only gave them 4 stars just because it is a rather unhealthy recipe. But sooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni Zalot

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
Recipe needed a little help- I baked (325 for 45 min)instead of frying and turned out great served with hollandaise sauce and family loved it-not a recipe to make on a monthly basis but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Isanti, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
These were very good. I baked mine instead of frying. I had to modify this a little as I'm not a huge fan of pork or sausage for that matter. But I love scotch eggs, go figure. Grinding your own meat and spicing it works great. Also I was lacking bread and crumbs at the moment so I substituted with a mixture of Scottish oatmeal, oat bran, and white corn meal with some Italian seasoning and granulated garlic. Worked wonderfully. The one thing that kept this form being a five star rating is the wastefulness. The first time I made these, even though I used less than the recipe called for, I still had so much egg, flour, and meal left over that I added a little milk and baking soda and made drop biscuits. The second time I got along fine with 1/4 cup of flour and 3/4 to 1 cup for the meal/bread crumbs and 2 eggs or 1/4 cup of egg beaters. Remember you can always add more but once the ingredients have come in contact with raw meat and eggs it must be either cooked into something or tossed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
We decided to have these instead of deviled eggs for Thanksgiving. They were wonderful. My three-year-old even gave her approval (although she doesn't like hard cooked eggs, and gave that part to her dad). Loved the crispy outside and sausage and egg all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redfield, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
A change for the better. I have made these for years and even had them featured on a cooking segment on TV. Switch out the pork for Jimmy Dean Sausage. It makes for such a better dish. And you can get it in mild, medium or Hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These are wonderful. I love to take to parties because they disappear very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
my boyfriend is from scotland and i am practicing making a few different things from his homeland. it was a little hard to get the sausage wrapped around the egg(they're slippery little suckers)but i figured it out. i used a package hollandaise sauce and added a tbls of dijon mustard to it. i suppose any mustard you like would do. the sauce was delicious and so was the egg. i'm trying to figure out a away to keep the egg soft bolied though. i think it would be much tastier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States