Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
The eggs were a little greasy. Might make them again, but would try baking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I used 2 packs of Jimmy Dean Hot Sauasage and added about a 1/2 lb of ground turkey (to make myself feel better about the fat content). Added a little ginger, garlic, and salt to the meat. Baked. Did not fry. Left unbreaded since I'm doing the Atkins thing. Got 8 scotch eggs from the meat mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
to get that grey ring around the egg you have to put the eggs under running cold water for 5 min when they are cooked then continue process and hopefully you will not have that grey ring around the egg jus plain white looks much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
In Belgium, this recipe is called "Bird's nest". It is served with mashed potatoes and covered in tomato sauce. Very yummie. I bake them completely in the oven, without frying them first. As delicious and less greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Van de Moortele

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
I make these all the time. Personally, I get 8 Scotch eggs from 2 pounds of pork sausage. I usually use Panko breadcrumbs as they get so crunchy and delish. You don't need 4 beaten eggs to coat them - 2 is ample. I spray a skillet with Pam and brown them on all sides before baking them in the oven for about 30 mins. I love them with Branston pickle, Husband has his with spicy mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This became a christmas tradition. After all these years I am up to cooking about 40 per season and they always run out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Very good. I use Jimmy Dean Maple Sauasage. To cut back on fat, I bake these at 350 for 45 minutes. My kids (2&8) love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Personally? I loved them and my husband seemed to enjoy them, but my kids (picky eaters, to be sure) didnt like them too much. (I dont like boiled eggs, I dont like hollendaise sauce, etc...) I'm still giving this recipe a 5 star rating because DH and I truly enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
The first time I tried these was at a Renaissance Faire. This is a very tasty recipe although not one I can eat on a regular basis (grin). I would like to mention that the cooler the meat & eggs are when you begin molding, the easier they are to make. I also like to dip my hands in very cold water before molding each one as my hands are always very warm and the fat in the sausage has a tendency liquify quickly. Definitely dust the eggs with flour before appling the sausage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I've been eating these since I was a little girl and them are wonderful, though incredibly bad for you if fried. I've been looking for a great baked recipe and here it is. I added a little pepper to the pork which gave it an added kick. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northwich, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States