Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Kitters82
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Very good, But way to much sausage for 4 eggs. And it made it thick to the point of having the sausage not fully cooked towards the center. I remember when I had these at a bar and the sausage was not so thick. So next time I will double the eggs giving it a thinner layer of sausage. I used jimmy dean breakfast sausage. Next time ill try the spicy jimmy dean. I used my deep fryer for the frying. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitters82

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Germany, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I've been making Scotch Eggs for decades but have never coated them. I thought I would try it for a change and as it's been a while since I've made them I came online to double check the recipe and noticed that the recipe called for coating them so I decided to coat mine this time. Normally I add a few spices to my Scotch Eggs such as black pepper, onion powder, a touch of garlic powder, parsley and my secret ingredient ... oregano. In my search for this recipe I noticed that Emeril uses his secret spice mixture which includes oregano and it was the oregano that I was confused about, I couldn't remember if it was oregano or poultry seasoning. LOL. Try adding oregano it gives such a nice addition to the sausage taste. I covered the hard boiled eggs with my seasoned sausage meat, then dipped them in flour, then egg then in Panko bread crumbs. Also I baked mine on a baking sheet covered with Release foil to prevent sticking) for 40 minutes at 350 degrees F. they turned out totally awesome, my husband liked them coated. Thanks for helping me with this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBIRD2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Thank you for this recipe. My husband talked about these being served at a restaurant he used to frequent. He's Irish, I'm Scottish - never heard of them. Go figure. I followed the recipe for the most part but gleaned tips from some of the reviews: I used Jimmy Dean's sausage, increased to 6 eggs for 2 lbs sausage, used Panko bread crumbs and 2 eggs for dipping was fine. I placed them all in a large oven safe skillet, browned stove top, then put the skillet in the oven for 40 minutes. I served sliced in half on large lettuce "cups" with 1/2 cup mayo and 3 Tablespoons Frenches Honey Mustard blended on the side. SO cute! I will use this instead of my breakfast casserole occasionally for company. Also, the night before, I have cooked eggs, encased with sausage and refrigerated. In the morning, dip in egg, bread, brown and bake in the morning. SOOO good with cinnamon rolls and fresh fruit! Different, easy and nice presentation! Sorry for long review and changes but thought it was worth sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Taste just like Scotch Eggs we had at a restaurant. Very good recipe. I used 1/2 regular breadcrumbs & 1/2 panko which turned out really well. Also, to coat the eggs in sausage, I found it easier to flour my hands, then form the patty in my palm, then put the egg in my hand & close it. That seals the meat around it really well. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
These were pretty time consuming for something I didn't find to be all the appetizing. They weren't bad, just kind of odd, but we decided to give them a try. Not sure I'd make these again, not the recipe's fault, just a personal preference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
So unhealthy but so delicious! They went quickly and people asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
My son is a piper (bagpipes) every New Years his marching band has a party and these are served. Very Scottish, Very good. Baked is just as good and easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
my mom makes these every now and then, they are delicious, and much healthier. she wraps turkey sausage around the egg & either browns it on the stove top (NO oil, just a little cooking spray to avoid sticking) or bakes it in the oven until cooked through. and she omits the flour, bread crumbs and beaten eggs altogether. they are great dipped in syrup for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Cooks great in the oven without all of the oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I make these for small get togethers now and they're always the first to be devoured!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States