Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Scotch eggs are an often requested snack at our house but I make mine with graham cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs. As well, I find that adding a bit of crumbs to the sausage helps it stay together better when you fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was great. However, I made a few tasty adjustments for more flavor and crunch. I added two tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce to the ground sausage and I mixed some panko bread crumbs in with the regular bread crumbs for coating. These were delicious cut in half served over Gouda cheese grits with a sprinkle of dried parsley for color. Everyone had seconds. I will definitely make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GarlicGoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PrettyPrincess
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I make these for the guys i work with and make a few changes. I bake them in the oven at 350. Then once cool I wrap in crescent rolls and bake again. It's the perfect breakfast on the go. Sometimes pair it with a mustard sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
My husband has always wanted me to make these for him so today I did. I used breakfast sausage and only made two eggs so I needed just one egg for coating. I was out of breadcrumbs so I ground saltine crackers and added seasoning. Huge mistake. This made the coating way too hard. Next time, panko crumbs and bread crumbs mixed. I also used a half pound of sausage for two eggs. My sausage layer was a bit thinner than the recipe called for, however, I deep fried these and wanted to be sure the sausage was cooked. They came out just like the picture only darker because I used crackers. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Very easy and quite delicious. I served them with gherkins and some spicy mustard with a salad and rolls, and my husband said they were better than the scotch eggs we'd had in England.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I made this recipe w/10 eggs instead of 4 and it did just fine w/the 2lbs of sausage. Everyone loved them! I think they might have been a little better w/some shredded cheese mixed in w/the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABolack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I tried a batch of these out for some friends and family. They were a hit and were true to the Scotch Egg style. However, had to over fry them to make sure that the sausage got fully cooked. This led to an overly brown (almost burnt) outer shell and a very dry egg yoke. I would suggest the following to improve the recipe: (1) the egg should be soft boiled prior to wraping with sausage and coating it, (2) the scotch egg should be browned to a golden brown color in a fry pan, and (3) the browned egg should then be baked in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
mine didn't come out any where near as pretty as theones in the picture...but daaaaaaaang these are friggen good!!!!i found them to be kind of a hassle to make but definetly worth it!!reminded me of a sausage mcmuffin w/ egg on steroids...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mark'n'karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These were very tasty but as several others have noted the measurements in this recipe are off. I used 2 lbs of spicy deer/pork sausage. I went ahead and hard boiled 5 eggs and definitely could have used 6 or 7. It only needs two beaten eggs to coat. Four cups of dried bread crumbs was not necessary. I used Progresso Parmesan bread crumbs which are very good. I wasted time pan frying then baking and should have just put them in the oven to bake. The result was very tasty albeit quite fattening. They were easy to make and I will make them again but probably only for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Scotch Eggs

How to make Scotch eggs!

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States