Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Marcie Killian Connally
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
These were wonderful and fun. The only reason they don't get five stars is that the recipe amounts are off a little bit. I used ONE pound of sausage and had plenty of coating for six eggs. Other than that, it was spot on. I served it with the mustard sauce found on this website with another scotch egg recipe. Take the other reviewer's advice and lightly flour the eggs before covering them with sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian Connally

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Easy to make and are great as leftovers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladwin, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Great basic recipe, made a few changes/additions on how we make them (this is for 8 eggs)...dust the eggs with flour to help sausage adhere better...used J.D. Sage Sausage...try mixing 1 egg beaten with 2 tsp dijon mustard and 1 tbls water, coat sausage covered eggs in this then roll in bread crumbs or panko crumbs...you can also add 1/8 tsp of mace or nutmeg to the sausage. To cut down the fat place the coated eggs on a greased rack in a large rimmed baking dish or sheet. Bake at 425 for 25mins, turning once, until golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harleysg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scituate, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
So easy to make and taste amazing! I had never even had a Scotch egg before trying this recipe. I made a quick dip for them that sent it over the top! Mix a half cup of mayo with several dashes of Texas Pete hot sauce, (if you like the heat add more dashes of hot sauce) Amazing! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Husband loves these! He called me brilliant for making them! I basked in his adoration for a moment before confessing that I actually found this recipe on Allrecipes.com. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I believe the word I got from my family was "blissful"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
This was really good!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is the second time we made these eggs, and both times we used about 2 inches of oil in a frying pan to get the deep fried effect without all the oil. This time we modified these for St. Patrick's day by adding mashed potatoes to the sausage mix (about 2 parts sausage to 1 part mashed potatoes). We called them "Irish Eggs" and they were a hit! The potatoes took some of the edge of the sausage so you could taste the egg a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
These were so delicious, but so massive that we couldn't eat much of them. But, I don't believe that has anything to do with the recipe so much as how much of the sausage mixture we decided to use on each egg. Either way, we'll be making them again, without a doubt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Turned out fantastic! These are now a breakfast fave at my place :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States