Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
The breading browned before the sausage cooked. At the finish line, I had 4 dark brown under-cooked (sausage) eggs. They got the "how to boil an egg" part right, though. The ingredients are fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
We got 8 Scotch eggs out of this amount of meat. This was my first time ever having them and I thought they were very good, if a bit heavy. My husband went crazy for them and definitely wants to have them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charysma88

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jenison, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Great recipe, eggs were a huge hit. I only used 1 lb of sausage. No other changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
I found this dish different and good. The reason for four stars because the rest of my family did not like it. I followed directions to the T, so it was not my error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Great recipe. Easy to follow. For 4 scotch eggs, I can usually use only one pound of sausage and one beaten egg. Also, I bake mine now because I was out of oil one day. They are crispy and delicious baked too. Hope this helps anyone who is low on certain ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I love this recipe!! I made it for a big group of people and everyone loved them. :) Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
They were really good (just wished I had some real English sausage to use instead!) I did learn that if after you put the sausage around the egg, leave it in the fridge for 15 minutes so it is not so sloppy and it is so much easier to coat with the egg and flour and bread crumbs. (I used seasoned panko bread crumbs). Also, turn the pan to medium heat to fry in veg. oil, but watch and turn very closely so it stays light brown. I also had to bake in the oven for 20 minutes to get the sausage cooked, not 10....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Turned out great. My son requests these all the time, a bit time consuming, but worth is. Great dipped in spicy brown mustard. MMM-mm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I just made these scotch eggs for the first time...they were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
A friend of mine brought these to our 4th of July party. I had never had them before. They were a big hit! She also served them with a spicy rumoulade sauce. Very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Chef John's Egg, Potato, and Pepper Pie

A big egg, sausage, pepper, and potato omelet topped with Cheddar and broiled.

Egg Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States