Scotch Eggs with Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
It's a keeper! Made as written with some minor subs. Used a can of quail eggs (@25/per can in the Asian aisle/grocery). Eggs were drained, rinsed well and left to dry while mixing sausage. Used 1 lb hot Tennessee Pride sausage and added 1 tbsp each of powdered garlic and worchestershire sauce (we LOVE garlic) and used Italian breadcrumbs. Allowed mixed to rest for 20 minutes to hydrate breadcrumbs. Omitted lemon (don't care for it). Used a sorbet scoop for equal sausage portions and wrapped egg in a thin layer. After coating with breadcrumbs, wrapped each egg in plastic wrap and put in freezer for 20 minutes or until slightly firm. I then shallow pan-fried to brown the top and bottom and then put them in the oven for 15-20 minutes at 350. The mini-freeze keeps them intact for the pan fry and the browning kept them crispy. I made the mustard sauce but quickly realized it was just honey mustard. Next time I'll just skip the step if I already have it in the frig. I also served them with maple syrup and Dijon mustard mixed with mayo and pepper. The were the perfect appetizer-sized portions on a toothpick. Next time, I'll try turkey sausage (some family members don't eat pork and I felt bad for leaving them out).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
these sound delicious, but 78 grams of fat in 1 egg is scaring (frightening) me away. Does anyone know the fat if you bake instead of frying? I can substitute a lower fat sausage substitute if it's worthwhile. They say the oil retained makes up 10% of the nutrition, what about the fat? I guess this may be part of the reason I never hear of a Scot holding the world record for longevity...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I am only reviewing the mustard sauce as I used another recipe for the eggs but the sauce was amazing. It really finished the eggs nicely. I would recommend having everything ready before you start, including a bowl to pour it in because even after I took it off the heat it seamed to still keep cook until I got it into another container. My hunny said he will be finishing this off on chicken patties for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coleebear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sykesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
You need a finely ground, high fat content sausage. Let it sit out until it is room temperature. Take alot of time making the sausage coating even and pack it tight, if you don't they splite while cooking. Don't use "jumbo" eggs. I find the medium to large eggs are ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Biggie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
The best find ever is Willamette farms cooked and peeled eggs ( I found at Win-co food store) I can never peel the eggs without losing "chunks" of egg! with that said I baked mine and they were perfect,and the mustard sauce was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Made this for brunch today, and we loved it! When making the mustard sauce, be sure to remove it from heat, as stated in recipe, or it will get too thick! Other than that, it was easy, following the recipe, and I will make it again, and recommend it to friends n family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I baked them too and dried the eggs and added flour before the sausage to help with wrapping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
The eggs are great with turkey sausage as well! My only complaint is the sauce. Although great when spread lightly over the eggs, the sauce is very rich and definitely not for those who hate mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Very good! I did roll the dry eggs in flour before attempting to get the sausage to stick, and it worked well! I did a quick fry to just brown them, then baked at 375f for about 15 minutes to finish. For the eggs, my family gave me an egg cooker several years ago for Christmas--it steams them. I undercooked the eggs just a bit so that they wouldn't have the grey lining nor be overcooked, and that worked well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Excellent recipe! Served it with creamy potatoes and fresh cut roma tomatoes and cucumbers. This recipe is now a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States