Scotch Eggs with Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alta
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Karen, I tried your version of these eggs and it is very good. I make mine a bit different, but they're from my grandmothers recipe and she's an Irish woman. We've been making these for years. Everyone ask's for the recipe! Did you know you can also make these with turkey sausage and bake them instead of deep frying them? They're very good that way, and much healthier. I like to make them at holidays for breakfast. I serve them with Hashbrowns and fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I was so happy to find this recipe as I had lost mine. It is suprisingly delicious. I serve these as a snack during gatherings with a mustard dipping sauce and there are never leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
OH MY GOSH!!! THIS RECIPE IS TO DIE FOR!! I have made this twice now in the last week, and everyone who has tried it, just loves it! I thank you so much for posting this. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitelaw, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I made these for our Scottish Burns Night celebration, and they were the hit of the evening. Absolutely delicious! I know they'll be requested for next year's party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
see that grey ring around the egg well i got the solution to that. to get that grey ring around the egg you have to put the eggs under running cold water for 5 min when they are cooked then continue process and hopefully you will not have that grey ring around the egg jus plain white looks much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I just made this recipe for the first time (and not the last). The only way I deviated was to use Jimmy Dean hot sausage. The combination of the spice in the sausage and the herbs added in the recipe was quite good. I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OS2MAC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Brings back memories, fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Rave of the Christmas Eve party! Delicious! The only trouble I had was getting the sausage cooked through. I think the oil was too hot and browned the bread crumbs too quickly. I ended up just browning them in the fryer to get a nice even colored coat and then I baked them at 325* in the oven for about 50 minutes. After reading quite a few recipes, I also added 2 tablespoons of all purpose flour to the sausage mixture to help the sausage adhere. Had no problems at all! Used 1/2 sage sausage and 1/2 regular pork sausage. Came out beautiful and YUMMY! Thanks for the great recipe, Karen! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I have tried several variations and the original! All are yum! Try it with ground chicken or turkey sausage. I usually opt for baking them to save a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This recipe tasted just like the ones we had at a scottish pub and grill.. I made these yesterday for and appitizer before easter dinner everyone loved them.. I did take the advice of someone else and used the Sage Jimmy Dean sausage. They turned out so great. On the mustard sauce the only thing I did different was use Brown mustard instead of Yellow Mustared. Was go great this will be a great appetizer on anyday. My Boyfriend took the 2 we had left for his lunch the next day and he said they heated up great and were just as good.. Thank you for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States