Scotch Eggs with Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alta
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Karen, I tried your version of these eggs and it is very good. I make mine a bit different, but they're from my grandmothers recipe and she's an Irish woman. We've been making these for years. Everyone ask's for the recipe! Did you know you can also make these with turkey sausage and bake them instead of deep frying them? They're very good that way, and much healthier. I like to make them at holidays for breakfast. I serve them with Hashbrowns and fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
see that grey ring around the egg well i got the solution to that. to get that grey ring around the egg you have to put the eggs under running cold water for 5 min when they are cooked then continue process and hopefully you will not have that grey ring around the egg jus plain white looks much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe up to cover eggs with sausage but then I baked mine in an oven 325° for about 30 minutes and we liked them like that. Another way to get rid of the gray ring is to steam the eggs, not boil them-the ring is caused from cooking them too long. If you don't have a steamer (rice cooker will work)-put the eggs in water, cover and bring to a boil. Turn off the heat and let set for 12 minutes then cool rapidly in ice water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathrine Ferguson Jenkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ulm, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe is very similar to my Grandmother's. She taught us a little trick to get the sausage to adhere to the egg. Roll the dry egg in a little flour before molding sausage to egg. Works wonders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Rave of the Christmas Eve party! Delicious! The only trouble I had was getting the sausage cooked through. I think the oil was too hot and browned the bread crumbs too quickly. I ended up just browning them in the fryer to get a nice even colored coat and then I baked them at 325* in the oven for about 50 minutes. After reading quite a few recipes, I also added 2 tablespoons of all purpose flour to the sausage mixture to help the sausage adhere. Had no problems at all! Used 1/2 sage sausage and 1/2 regular pork sausage. Came out beautiful and YUMMY! Thanks for the great recipe, Karen! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe is delicious as written! It will also be fun to play with the ingredients as well. Update - interesting... I had made this recipe and rated it accordingly, as stated here. I then had said how it bothers me when people give recipes a poor rating based striclty on the fact that they don't care for the ingredients, having never actually made it. That part of my review was removed, but the poor ratings by people who seem to think it is their job to monitor our health are still on here. I'm sure this review won't last long either... Great recipe, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Good appetizer. My friend Mary loves these. Can be baked instead of fried. Do not omit the mustard sauce! It makes this dish pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
IMPORTANT PREP TIP: DRY the peeled eggs before wrapping them in sausage. You won't have to chase them around the kitchen when they come squirting out of the wrap when you squeeze. I LOVE this dish but make it very differently. I roll them in cracker crumbs for a softer, slightly sweeter crust and I bake them on a broiler pan (two levels to trap the fat) so they don't sit in grease. Mustard of any kind is great, however, consider drizzling a little maple syrup instead. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Holy WOW! I had some friends in from London and I made these as an appetizer. They went nuts! They said these were BY FAR the best Scotch Eggs they had ever eaten. Even better than the ones they get in Britain! Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari the Amazon
Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I was so happy to find this recipe as I had lost mine. It is suprisingly delicious. I serve these as a snack during gatherings with a mustard dipping sauce and there are never leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States