Scotch Eggs with Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This was really enjoyable and the mustard sauce REALLY made the breakfast. With that said, it was a bit of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I have tried several variations and the original! All are yum! Try it with ground chicken or turkey sausage. I usually opt for baking them to save a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Rave of the Christmas Eve party! Delicious! The only trouble I had was getting the sausage cooked through. I think the oil was too hot and browned the bread crumbs too quickly. I ended up just browning them in the fryer to get a nice even colored coat and then I baked them at 325* in the oven for about 50 minutes. After reading quite a few recipes, I also added 2 tablespoons of all purpose flour to the sausage mixture to help the sausage adhere. Had no problems at all! Used 1/2 sage sausage and 1/2 regular pork sausage. Came out beautiful and YUMMY! Thanks for the great recipe, Karen! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mst917198

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Brings back memories, fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Good appetizer. My friend Mary loves these. Can be baked instead of fried. Do not omit the mustard sauce! It makes this dish pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Not quite as good as my mother in laws, I'm not sure what she does different. Still a very good recipe though! The mustard sauce is a bit bland, though. My boyfriend enjoyed the meal very much though, I'm just picky and that's why I gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crackasmile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Holy WOW! I had some friends in from London and I made these as an appetizer. They went nuts! They said these were BY FAR the best Scotch Eggs they had ever eaten. Even better than the ones they get in Britain! Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari the Amazon
Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These were really good although not something I could eat often. Very filling and quite fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I just made this recipe for the first time (and not the last). The only way I deviated was to use Jimmy Dean hot sausage. The combination of the spice in the sausage and the herbs added in the recipe was quite good. I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OS2MAC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Photo by Alta
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Karen, I tried your version of these eggs and it is very good. I make mine a bit different, but they're from my grandmothers recipe and she's an Irish woman. We've been making these for years. Everyone ask's for the recipe! Did you know you can also make these with turkey sausage and bake them instead of deep frying them? They're very good that way, and much healthier. I like to make them at holidays for breakfast. I serve them with Hashbrowns and fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alta

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States