Scotch Eggs with Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by KaLola
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I had a problem with getting the pork sausage to cover the egg evenly. I baked these instead of frying. They were still pretty good. Sauce was a little thicker than I liked, so I added a little bit of water while cooking and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaLola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This recipe tasted just like the ones we had at a scottish pub and grill.. I made these yesterday for and appitizer before easter dinner everyone loved them.. I did take the advice of someone else and used the Sage Jimmy Dean sausage. They turned out so great. On the mustard sauce the only thing I did different was use Brown mustard instead of Yellow Mustared. Was go great this will be a great appetizer on anyday. My Boyfriend took the 2 we had left for his lunch the next day and he said they heated up great and were just as good.. Thank you for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This was really enjoyable and the mustard sauce REALLY made the breakfast. With that said, it was a bit of work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I have tried several variations and the original! All are yum! Try it with ground chicken or turkey sausage. I usually opt for baking them to save a few calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Rave of the Christmas Eve party! Delicious! The only trouble I had was getting the sausage cooked through. I think the oil was too hot and browned the bread crumbs too quickly. I ended up just browning them in the fryer to get a nice even colored coat and then I baked them at 325* in the oven for about 50 minutes. After reading quite a few recipes, I also added 2 tablespoons of all purpose flour to the sausage mixture to help the sausage adhere. Had no problems at all! Used 1/2 sage sausage and 1/2 regular pork sausage. Came out beautiful and YUMMY! Thanks for the great recipe, Karen! Merry Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Dale

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Brings back memories, fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Good appetizer. My friend Mary loves these. Can be baked instead of fried. Do not omit the mustard sauce! It makes this dish pop!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Not quite as good as my mother in laws, I'm not sure what she does different. Still a very good recipe though! The mustard sauce is a bit bland, though. My boyfriend enjoyed the meal very much though, I'm just picky and that's why I gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crackasmile

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Holy WOW! I had some friends in from London and I made these as an appetizer. They went nuts! They said these were BY FAR the best Scotch Eggs they had ever eaten. Even better than the ones they get in Britain! Thanks for the GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari the Amazon
Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
These were really good although not something I could eat often. Very filling and quite fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States