Scotch Eggs with Mustard Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
These are as good if not better that the only bar&grill in my area that has em on the menu...made em for just an afternoon snack and the whole fam loved em...this is a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmtmtmfl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I fixed these with the ingredients I had. No lemon zest so I used lemon pepper, Floured the eggs as suggested before putting on the sausage mixture. They were wonderful! Some problems with grease digestion in this family so I baked them. Don't know how they could be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Wonderful flavor and texture! Great to prepare ahead for breakfast the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Boiling eggs: Place eggs in large saucepan. Cover eggs w/1" of COLD WATER. Place on med. heat and bring to a ROLLING BOIL. Remove from heat, cover and let set for at least 20min. Run under cold water until eggs are cool to touch. To peel:Rap lightly with knuckles, NOT on the counter nor edge of the bowl. Start by getting UNDER the MEMBRANE. The shell should come away easily. If storing in the fridge, cover or put them in a zip-lok bag so they won't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greybear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe is delicious as written! It will also be fun to play with the ingredients as well. Update - interesting... I had made this recipe and rated it accordingly, as stated here. I then had said how it bothers me when people give recipes a poor rating based striclty on the fact that they don't care for the ingredients, having never actually made it. That part of my review was removed, but the poor ratings by people who seem to think it is their job to monitor our health are still on here. I'm sure this review won't last long either... Great recipe, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This recipe is very similar to my Grandmother's. She taught us a little trick to get the sausage to adhere to the egg. Roll the dry egg in a little flour before molding sausage to egg. Works wonders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
IMPORTANT PREP TIP: DRY the peeled eggs before wrapping them in sausage. You won't have to chase them around the kitchen when they come squirting out of the wrap when you squeeze. I LOVE this dish but make it very differently. I roll them in cracker crumbs for a softer, slightly sweeter crust and I bake them on a broiler pan (two levels to trap the fat) so they don't sit in grease. Mustard of any kind is great, however, consider drizzling a little maple syrup instead. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe up to cover eggs with sausage but then I baked mine in an oven 325° for about 30 minutes and we liked them like that. Another way to get rid of the gray ring is to steam the eggs, not boil them-the ring is caused from cooking them too long. If you don't have a steamer (rice cooker will work)-put the eggs in water, cover and bring to a boil. Turn off the heat and let set for 12 minutes then cool rapidly in ice water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathieMT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Ulm, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KaLola
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I had a problem with getting the pork sausage to cover the egg evenly. I baked these instead of frying. They were still pretty good. Sauce was a little thicker than I liked, so I added a little bit of water while cooking and it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaLola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This recipe tasted just like the ones we had at a scottish pub and grill.. I made these yesterday for and appitizer before easter dinner everyone loved them.. I did take the advice of someone else and used the Sage Jimmy Dean sausage. They turned out so great. On the mustard sauce the only thing I did different was use Brown mustard instead of Yellow Mustared. Was go great this will be a great appetizer on anyday. My Boyfriend took the 2 we had left for his lunch the next day and he said they heated up great and were just as good.. Thank you for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Fry an Egg

Watch how to fry eggs with tender whites and golden yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States