Scotch Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is a great base recipe! Everything cooked perfectly. The only complaint that I have was that the breadcrumb coating was a little bit bland. I will add more spices next time and it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clh5030

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
omg had my first share today im inlove
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was an excellent breakfast at our lodge and a huge hit. Our hunters and fishermen alike loved that we could put these in a small cooler hot and they could have a warm breakfast in their duck blinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samjguess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Very different! Nice to serve at a brunch or breakfast. Very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These were delicious! I used 12oz of sausage and 6 eggs and it was the perfect amount. I also followed suggesstions of baking them at 450 degrees for 45 minutes. They turned out perfect! Served them with a smoky horseradish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica E Wilson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This was good, too greasy for me, but my boyfriend likes to experience food from my heritage! Although, Scotland is not known for spectacular cuisine! I would recommend that, if you are not much for greasy food you try the baked version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
I used this recipe for Easter fest this year; they were such a hit that 100 were not enough. Awesome recipe quite easy to make is large quanties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetseraphima
Photo by Tech2Pets
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I made these a while back, with 2 kinds of scones, to take to a meeting my boy was having before his big trip to the British Isles. We followed the directions, mostly, but did use a lb each of spicy and regular pork sausage.(we doubled the recipe) and skipped the W. sauce and flour after looking at a few other recipes. Everyone in the group was hesitant but they ended up loving these and I shared the recipe with most of the mothers. He rolled them all, and I fried them. (he is 12)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tech2Pets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NomNomDelicious
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Love this recipe! I've made a few batches of this for family and friends. In some batches, I've used half pork sausage and half turkey sausage, and in others, I've used all turkey sausage and they both turn out great. I like to add about a 1/2 tsp of garlic powder, 1/4 tsp of additional sage, and 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes to kick up the flavor of the sausage. It's really easy to boil the eggs and prepare the sausage mixture the night before, then put together and broil in the oven the next morning for breakfast. Great recipe, thanks UKLAINE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomDelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I just made this recipe to try out for a breakfast item for a tailgating football event we are going to. It is awesome! I had the same issue as others where I fried them and then finished them off in the oven at 400° for about a 1/2 hour. I only had panko on hand and that worked great. I also used one pound hot and one pound of regular breakfast sausage to add some kick & doubled the recipe ingredients (except for pepper). Using two pounds of sausage, I was able to make 11 scotch eggs. Next time I will probably be able to squeeze out about 14.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MichLovesToCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

Scrambled Eggs Done Right

See how to make perfect fluffy scrambled eggs.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States