Scotch Broth II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
These days lamb is SO expensive, I can only make the dish around holidays. Like everyone else. I enjoy a variation handed to me from my Nana when I was a child. She was from Nottingham, England. Her last name was HOLT. If anyone knows of HOLT or HOPKINS (HOPKINSON) in the midlands area I would appreciate an email. Scotch Broth: From a box of barley, make a barley flour. About 1/3 of the box will do. This will be used to make a rue of the barley flour and equal part wheat flour. IN a large stock pot. Bring 8 cups of water to rolling boil. Reduce to light boil. Add in small chopped lamb, bones and fats, 1/2 TBLSP salt. 1 teaspoon ground black pepper. boil until meat falls off bones. Skim top. clean and dice vegs. 2 FRESH leeks, well chopped (Pay attention to make sure to get all the dirt out.) remainder of box of barley (7 ounce or so) 2 large potatoes, peeled and diced. 1 rutabaga fine diced 3-4 SWEET onion coarse chop 3 carrots, peeled and diced 1/2 teaspoon brown sugar If you like it a little firey, add 3 dashes of red pepper (OPTIONAL) cook at rolling boil Add rue mixture and if not thick enough, dissolve 3 heaped tablespoons in cold water and slowly add to soup while stirring. Allow to come to rolling boil *** while stirring constantly. *** reduce heat to simmer for at least 2 hours. Serve with a hunk of coarse bread and butter. If you can, allow to rest overnight to marry flavors. Me? I can't wait..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frank Hopkins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alexandra
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I made this soup for 16 servings. A lot of time was needed in the preparation however, it was worth it. I added an extra half cup of Barley to make sure it was nice and thick. It did taste a bit on the bland side as others have said so I added, in total, following each tasting, about 2 tbsps of Bisto Lamb & Onion Gravy which made all the difference. My Scotch Broth was now perfect and everyone gave it great comments. Will certainly add this recipe to my list of favourites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
too bland for all the work put in...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This soup is the greatest! I have been making it for years. Over 40 years ago Campbell's Soup made a condensed Scotch Broth soup. It started getting expensive and very hard to find. Now they don't make it at all. So back in the 70's I looked at the ingredients on the can and realized it was made with mutton. I started getting lamb bones at the butcher and adding all the ingredients that were listed on the can. The can did list rutabaga as one of the vegetables. I have added potatoes as a substitute when I didn't have rutabaga on hand. I LOVE barley so I do not use the quick cooking as it can have a much softer texture. I usually add 1/2 cup more barley than what the recipe calls for. I was given several pounds of turnips and while searching for turnip recipes I ran across this version of Scotch Broth. Simply delicious. Don't expect a beefy flavor, it is much different, but oh soooo good. Step outside the box if you have not tried it. I hope you love it as much as my family does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
At least she used lamb! The other recipes are NOT Scotch Broth which must use lamb. There is a much easier way to make it: Soak half a cup of pearl barley overnight Put 2 pounds of meaty lamb shanks, one yellow onion quartered and a tsp.- tbsp. of peppercorns in a large pot and cover with cold water. Bring to boil and skim. Reduce heat, partially cover for 2 hrs. Strain and skim adding meat on the bones. Now. Bring broth and meat to a boil in a pot with the following diced nice and small - 1 cup each onion, carrots, parsnips, turnip (or rutabaga) and add the strained barley.You can add celery if you wish. Bring to boil, reduce heat, then simmer an hour. Season as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I was able to make this soup edible by adding a handful of garlic but, over all, it was a time consuming, expensive castastrophe. The prep time should be noted as more like two hours between all the straining, stripping, chopping and mincing. It absolutely did not taste anything like my idea of scotch broth and it combined badly with other foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Made according to the recipe, this dish tastes bland. Add a teaspoon of dried oregano, thyme, summer savory, basil, or mint -- all of which go nicely with lamb -- to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Always so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
A delicious soup that my entire family enjoyed. I made a double batch and froze the leftovers. You'll want to add salt and pepper to taste when you serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn Buckner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Ilove chopping and dicing so this recipe is good therapy for those who enjoy that. The soup was great. I followed these instructions but cut back on the turnip and onion because mine were very large so I only used one in the final soup. This was perfect on a cold November night in Colorado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by good cooker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scotch Eggs

See the secret to scrumptious, sausage-wrapped Scotch eggs.

How to Make Roasted Chicken Broth

The key to delicious chicken noodle soup is the broth.

Mussels in a Fennel & White Wine Broth

See how to make mussels cooked in a fennel and white wine broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States