Scotch Bonnet Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This turned out really good. Very hot but very tasty. If it weren't for all the slicing it would be awesome. I guess you could throw them in the food processor before cooking instead of slicing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by walshie
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I used 9 chillies from my garden plus 3 small habeneros - still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I used cayenne and jalapeño peppers because that is what is growing in the garden. This sauce is nice and spicy (I am sure more so with scotch bonnets!) and with great flavor. I added a little more salt and a couple of small tomatoes because they were there. Very easy! I will use this recipe often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I made this recipe, but I only followed the ingredients not the technique or preparation. Basically all you have to do is give to smooth consistency, and then cook it for 10 minutes. And cooking the sauce is optional. My way cuts down on your prep time and cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
!!! I love the hottest of hot sauce and this is a beauty!!! I made two batches and doubled recipe and filled 3 mason jars with each batch. First time followed exactly but more liquidy then I enjoy. Next batch less water and no vinegar and turned out to be the hottest, thickest and most flavorful hot sauce I've made yet. Just make sure the wife's out of the house when you make it or you'll definitely hear some bitchin.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Absolutely fabulous! not for the faint hearted though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Woah buddy! This is a darn good recipe! Its got a great smoky flavor followed by the POW of spice. I used scorpion peppers and habaneros instead because that's what I have in my garden . But wow is it spicy and flavorful. My roommates absolutely loved it and one of them doesn't even like the spicy stuff. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Delicious, and hot. I made it without seeds for the first go and it could have been a touch hotter maybe. It does have a juicy, sweet hint which is great. I added 1/2 tsp of mustard powder, toned down the garlic a little and used half white sugar, half demerera. Yum. I'm now trying version 2 with peaches as per another suggestion in these reviews. Bring on the hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Fire sauce! Yum. This recipe can be much easier with the help of a food processor. Throw in the peppers (seeds and all), onion, garlic, and a couple of whole tomatoes. Blend it all up and then put it in the oil pan, and the tomatoes give it enough juice so you don't have to add water. Then proceed with the recipe. Use any type of hot peppers. Make it doubled or tripled and freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuarts Draft, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KyleKatarn
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Super recipe! Followed it almost exactly: since I only had 16 Scotch Bonnets I've used 8 Jalapeno's (on these I've kept the seeds). The result was really amazing and it gave me two jars and a bottle of this delicious hot, hot, hotsauce. Just a piece of advise: use gloves and toss them in the garbage bin once you've handled the peppers. Then wash your hands really well. While cooking, make sure you have some exhaustion system in place or else open the window of your kitchen wide open, since the vapours can really give you an hard time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States