Scotch Bonnet Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Hot and Carribean! Just an easy tasty hot sauce... Tried to make it more tropical by substituting 1/4 cup mango for the sugar. Juice of 10 key limes, with the white vinegar for a total of 1/3 cup. Used Spanish onion, and a 1/2 tsp of curry powder. Very spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I found this excellent. My only change was to substitute red Fresno peppers for the Jalapenos, because blending reds and greens in liquid sometimes looks nasty. Also, I subbed Agave nectar for the white sugar, and low-sodium salt substitute for salt. Check out some of the sauce I've made! http://allrecipes.com/customrecipe/63136136/hot-sweet-habanero-chile-sauce-3/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KyleKatarn
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Super recipe! Followed it almost exactly: since I only had 16 Scotch Bonnets I've used 8 Jalapeno's (on these I've kept the seeds). The result was really amazing and it gave me two jars and a bottle of this delicious hot, hot, hotsauce. Just a piece of advise: use gloves and toss them in the garbage bin once you've handled the peppers. Then wash your hands really well. While cooking, make sure you have some exhaustion system in place or else open the window of your kitchen wide open, since the vapours can really give you an hard time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This is an awesome recipe. Although I made mine strictly with jalapenos, it works with any hot peppers. I used less than a tbls of sugar and about 3 cloves garlic to make it to my taste. This sauce is great on anything you want to "kick up a notch". 2 thumbs up on this hot sauce recipe!! I am going to try to can some for winter use. Love it!!! Thankyou for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Delicious, and hot. I made it without seeds for the first go and it could have been a touch hotter maybe. It does have a juicy, sweet hint which is great. I added 1/2 tsp of mustard powder, toned down the garlic a little and used half white sugar, half demerera. Yum. I'm now trying version 2 with peaches as per another suggestion in these reviews. Bring on the hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Seeker
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this for someone that wanted liquid fire...the hotter the better. So I used straight Scotch bonnets and no Jalapenos; then followed the recipe exactly. My victim absolutely loved it. I tasted a tiny amount and discovered a fruity note that was pleasant. So I decided to use a drop or two in my fruit sauce for meat now and then or when I want a little heat in a dish. Very good sauce in tiny quantities (for me.) I did use a bit of food coloring to get the beautiful color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Fire sauce! Yum. This recipe can be much easier with the help of a food processor. Throw in the peppers (seeds and all), onion, garlic, and a couple of whole tomatoes. Blend it all up and then put it in the oil pan, and the tomatoes give it enough juice so you don't have to add water. Then proceed with the recipe. Use any type of hot peppers. Make it doubled or tripled and freeze some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuarts Draft, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Woah buddy! This is a darn good recipe! Its got a great smoky flavor followed by the POW of spice. I used scorpion peppers and habaneros instead because that's what I have in my garden . But wow is it spicy and flavorful. My roommates absolutely loved it and one of them doesn't even like the spicy stuff. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
!!! I love the hottest of hot sauce and this is a beauty!!! I made two batches and doubled recipe and filled 3 mason jars with each batch. First time followed exactly but more liquidy then I enjoy. Next batch less water and no vinegar and turned out to be the hottest, thickest and most flavorful hot sauce I've made yet. Just make sure the wife's out of the house when you make it or you'll definitely hear some bitchin.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Absolutely fabulous! not for the faint hearted though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

How to Make Mole Sauce

See how to make an authentic mole sauce, Oaxaca-style.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States